Read Beware the Past by Joy Ellis Online

Beware the Past

One terrible case always haunted Detective Matt Ballard. Now many years later, the killer seems to be back, and this time he's after Matt.When Matt Ballard was starting out his career, three boys were murdered in the same area, the remote and bleak Gibbet Fen. When the main suspect was killed in a hit-and-run, the killings stopped. But Matt was not satisfied that the real murderer had been caught.Over 25 years later, Matt gets a photo in an unmarked envelope. Its of the Gibbet Fen crime scene. And the picture was taken before the murder took place.More photos arrive, relating to the historic murders, as well as intimate pictures of Matts very secret private life.A killer who will stop at nothing to destroy a detective.Then another murder happens, with some of the hallmarks of the old case. Has the killer returned or is this just a sick copycat determined to ruin Matts life and reputation? Everyone around Matt is in danger as the killer plays mind games with the detective.In an absolutely breathtaking conclusion, Matt and his team race against time to stop a vicious killer who knows no limits.WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT BEWARE THE PASTI think I forgot to breathe every now and then while I was reading and really begrudged having to put the book down. BarbaraA simply brilliant book, so many twists and turns, I had no idea what to expect at any time. JanetThe suspense starts on Page 1 and continues through the twists and turns until the very surprising ending. Linda StrongOMG, this book was fantastic I absolutely loved it. I was gripped from the first page but as the tension and suspense mounted throughout the book it just got better and better and that ending, well just WOW! Dawn JonesGripping from beginning to end. OlgaWithout doubt Joy Ellis' best yet, this from someone who has read all of the Ellis novels. RonFull of suspense, many clues and leads that only lead to dead-ends. Interesting characters with a past and buried secrets. MissmesmerizedThe SettingEngland's rural fenland is a strange place, with its never-ending fields, winding tracks, and long straight droves (the old livestock routes) that lead to nowhere. The lonely lanes are flanked either side by deep drainage ditches and are, for a good part of the year, filled with tall, whispering reeds. Closer to the Wash, high seabanks form a barrier between river and marsh, and the richly fertile soil of the drained land. But when the mists come down, as they so often do, perspective is destroyed and all sense of direction lost, and then the fens become a rather frightening place of mystery and danger. Somewhere that you do not want to be at night.Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.ALSO BY JOY ELLISTHE NIKKI GALENA SERIESBook 1: CRIME ON THE FENSBook 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENSBook 3: HUNTED ON...

Title : Beware the Past
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 369 pages
Url Type : Home » Beware » Beware the Past
beware game beware of the dog beware the ides of march beware the slenderman beware the book of eli beware of greeks bearing gifts beware demo beware of the dog sign beware the batman beware lyrics beware the lake beware meaning beware of mr baker beware horror game beware pokemon beware of pity beware of the leopard beware macduff beware of darkness beware the ides of march beware the slenderman beware the book of eli beware the batman beware the lake beware the judderman beware the moon beware the fury of a patient man beware the barrenness of a busy life beware the ides of march meaning beware the night beware the cat beware the past beware the friendly stranger beware the bear beware the beast beware the blob beware the lake trailer beware the beast lyrics beware the wrath of caesar beware the past joy ellis beware the past book beware the past kindle beware the past ending beware the past epub beware the past spoilers beware the past review beware the past synopsis beware the past novel beware the past pdf beware the past amazon beware of the past christopher koch beware in the past beware past perfect

BEWARE THE PAST a gripping crime thriller with a Beware the Past is definitely a gripping crime thriller It is a very English mystery, but not a cozy one DCI Matt Ballard is nearing retirement when he suddenly receives photos of serial killer crimes from twenty or so years ago. Past Simple and Past Continuous Exercise Past Simple and Past Continuous Exercise Here s an exercise to practise the verb tenses Choose the past simple or past continuous tense You can review how to use the past simple here and how to use the past continuous here. Ronaldo past his best but Liverpool must beware him Real Madrid s Cristiano Ronaldo is past his best but Liverpool must beware him and Sergio Ramos elbows Reds great Graeme Souness says key to Kiev triumph is Jurgen Klopp s side dealing with the occasion Beware Definition of Beware by Merriam Webster A ghostly voice cried Beware He told them to beware The restaurant s food is excellent, but beware the chili if you don t like spicy food. Ravelco Beware Page beware page please beware and make certain that you are not purchasing fake or knock off copies of the ravelco anti theft device on Buyer Beware FRENCH BULLDOG CLUB OF ENGLAND BEWARE IF YOU SEE ADVERTS LIKE THESE For Sale Rare colours, Blue, Blue Pied, Blue Fawn, Slate, Lilac etc There is nothing rare Beware the scammers who claim to be from TalkTalk Beware the scammers who claim to be from TalkTalk Listen to the call that reveals fraudsters dirty tricks Fraudster tries to convince our reporter to let him take control of his computer remotely Panjabi MC Beware Music Product description tracks Review If you ve been within shouting distance of any self respecting urban radio station this past summer, you doubtlessly heard Jay Z s monster remix of Panjabi MC s Beware countless times. Beware of the Con Artist Straight Shooter.Net Most people are probably not going to fall for the short con of the carnival barker, at least not than once It is the Long Con the well laid out plan of a shrewd talker and planner that will trap the truly unsuspecting like the Microsoft executive, like the Eiffel Tower purchaser. LITERARY AGENTS SFWA Introduction Dishonest Agents Amateur, Marginal, and Incompetent Agents Telling Questionable From Reputable Agents Who Are Also Publishers Additional Cautions

Beware the Past Reviews

  • Annette

    I have read quite a few books by this author and in my opinion it's one of her best. It is the kind of book where you say to yourself just one more chapter and end up reading half a dozen. There has to be some violence in crime thrillers but Joy Ellis knows how to put in lots of detail without going over the top.

  • Books n All  Jill Burkinshaw

    Joy Ellis is, probably, my favourite author and I was very much looking forward to reading this stand-alone book. This book comes shortly after Thieves on the Fens and I absolutely loved that book so much I really doubted it could be bettered but then along comes this one and now I am thinking WOW the books just get better and better I wonder what she will come up with next.

    Matt is haunted by a case many years ago when 3 11 year old boys were brutally murdered. The suspect died before his guilt
    ...more

  • lesley Benrimoj

    Ten Stars!

    Its 2:45am and I've just finished this book! I would say its been one of the most exciting books I've read for a long time! I love joy Ellis novels and have to say this stand alone book is a cracker. I was reading to get to the end as was totally enthralled and engrossed in the story......its now finished and I'm exhausted. Great story.... Great book!!

  • G.J.

    I am not at all sure about this book, my first by Joy Ellis. This book sums up a lot about what I don’t like in contemporary crime fiction, we have the inevitable troubled/disturbed Detective, in this story not a particulalry likeable one ! Then what appears to be the most common theme these days, child abuse. This is slowly but surely going to be turning me away from these kind of books!

    The book itself was well written and did have a couple of well rounded characters, but it also left quite a f
    ...more

  • Lisa Clift

    Oooh it's always good when you discover a new author, and last night I found Joy! This is an excellent murder mystery, with plenty of twists and double bluffs, and a flawed hero. Can't wait to dive into the rest of her books.

  • Misfits farm

    Twenty five years ago DC Matt Ballard found a body whilst staking out a drugs drop. Two more bodies were found shortly afterwards, all three were eleven year old boy whom no one would miss. The perpetrator was thought to have been found dead but several investigating the case didn’t believe it was quite that simple. Fast forward to now and Matt is now a DCI, just a few short months away from retirement. His past has been jaded and then he receives, via one of his colleague,s a photograph. He is ...more

  •  Li'l Owl

    It's been twenty years since DCI Matt Ballard and his old partner worked case in which three eleven year old boys were savagely murdered. At the time they were certain they'd catch the monster responsible. They never did.

    They had a suspect but hadn't made the case stick. When the man died the killings stopped.

    Matt is about to retire but has plans of revisiting the case full time.

    Then one of his PC's gets a letter in the mail addressed to Matt. It's a photograph of the first crime scene. Taken
    ...more

  • Ellen

    Complete and utter bollocks. Unrealistic, poorly written, and simply ridiculous.