Read The Ruin (Cormac Reilly #1) by Dervla McTiernan Online

The Ruin (Cormac Reilly #1)

It's been twenty years since Cormac Reilly discovered the body of Hilaria Blake in her crumbling Georgian home. But he's never forgotten the two children she left behind...When Aisling Conroy's boyfriend Jack is found in the freezing black waters of the river Corrib, the police tell her it was suicide. A surgical resident, she throws herself into study and work, trying to forget - until Jack's sister Maude shows up. Maude suspects foul play, and she is determined to prove it.DI Cormac Reilly is the detective assigned with the re-investigation of an 'accidental' overdose twenty years ago - of Jack and Maude's drug- and alcohol-addled mother. Cormac is under increasing pressure to charge Maude for murder when his colleague Danny uncovers a piece of evidence that will change everything...This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French and Jane Casey....

Title : The Ruin (Cormac Reilly #1)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780143133124
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 400 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Ruin (Cormac Reilly #1)

Booktopia The Ruin, Cormac Reilly by Dervla Booktopia has The Ruin, Cormac Reilly by Dervla McTiernan Buy a discounted Paperback of The Ruin online from Australia s leading online bookstore. Dervla McTiernan, author of The Ruin, out now Cormac Reilly is about to reopen the case that took him twenty years to forget The stunning debut novel from your new favourite crime writer. About Dervla Dervla McTiernan, author of The Ruin A Well, The Rin is the first in a series Cormac Reilly returns in the second book in the series, which will be out in Australia in March , and other The Most Exciting Books of Better Reading Check out the The Most Exciting Books of book list on Better Reading National Library of Australia Canberra Online Bookshop The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan is a thrilling mystery that delves into the life of Detective Cormac Reilly Read More Booktopia Books, Online Books, Australian online Booktopia buy online books, DVDs and Magazine Subscriptions from Australia s leading online bookstore with over million titles Booktopia offers thousands of News from UCD Press University College Dublin Press University College Dublin Press Preas Choliste Ollscoile Bhaile tha Cliath UCD Humanities Institute, Room H Belfield, Dublin t e Most famous book set in every state INSIDER The most famous book set in each state, in one chart Skye Gould INSIDER Whether you come from the California coastline or the snowy Dymocks All books and reader reviews Find the latest All books, readers reviews and only at Dymocks Online BookStore. There Are Things Known, and Things Unknown, and In Between One thought on There Are Things Known, and Things Unknown, and In Between Are the Doors Keith Mautner Post author June , at pm

The Ruin (Cormac Reilly #1) Reviews

  • Kate Forsyth

    For me, the best crime novels are tense, evocative reads, set somewhere misty and atmospheric that raises the hairs on your skin, with characters who are complex and alive, who you cannot help caring about, and written in terse language that nonetheless has the power to haunt you with its beauty. I want to be moved by the characters’ plight and gripped by the compulsion to know what happened, and I want to be genuinely surprised by the denouement.

    It is, unsurprisingly, difficult to find all tha
    ...more

  • Susan Dunn

    I actually listened to Aoife McMahon's delightful Irish accent bring Dervla McTiernan's story to life. 'The Ruin' is a totally engaging story that had me give up waiting for my next trip in my car, my usual place for audio books, and allow myself a bedtime story!

    From the outset I sensed I was in for a treat. McTiernan's unwavering attention to detail had me visualising characters and scenes as though I were watching a movie. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised to see Cormac Reilly on the big scree
    ...more

  • Josh

    This police procedural set in mostly in Galway, Ireland introduces new series protagonist Cormac Reilly; a smart and dedicated Guard who isn't afraid to go against the grain to solve a case - even if it means investigating his colleagues.

    The Ruin is a story of two tales intertwined by murder and circumstance. When Jake Blake goes missing, his partner, Aisling Conroy fears she's lost her loved one following the discovery of her pregnancy, however, it's not a matter of cold feet, with something m
    ...more

  • Jeanette Lewis

    An outstanding book. This author had me reading until my eyes blurred. Cormac has transferred to Mill St Garda Station after being in an Anti Terrorism squad in Dublin. He has Cold Cases to now work on, solo. He isn’t well received by those around him but something not unexpected due to his previous achievements. The transfer is due to his partner and her work opportunities. What ensues brings Cormac right back to the beginning of his young Police life, the death of an alcoholic woman called in ...more

  • Susan

    This is a very promising start to a new crime series. Cormac Reilly is a young Garda, or police officer, when he is sent out to a call. When he arrives at the crumbling country house, he finds a mother dead of what appears to be a drug overdose and two children alone. Maude is fifteen, her little brother, Jack, only five. The two children are obviously neglected and so Cormac takes the two to a local hospital, where Maude slips away.

    Twenty years later and Jack, who was adopted, is living with hi
    ...more

  • Andrea

    I've read some really, really good debuts this year, and this one is right up there.

    DS Cormac Reilly has recently transferred from Dublin to Galway. He hasn't felt particularly welcome at his new station, being assigned a mountain of cold cases to re-work on his own. When he is told to investigate the overdose death of Hilaria Blake - a case that he had himself flagged as a suspicious death just one week into his policing career 20 years ago - he begins to think there is more going on at the sta
    ...more

  • Mandy Radley

    You can't beat a damn good police procedural, forget all these psychological thrillers that are popping up everywhere. Dervla McTiernan, never heard of her before, was recommended at a recent book meeting, writes the first in the Cormac Reilly series, a Guarda now working out of Galway. Highly recommended and I can't wait for the next one to come out next year.

  • Jennifer (JC-S)

    ‘I am reopening this case and I want you to run the investigation.’

    Irishman Cormac Reilly remembers his first case as a new garda twenty years ago. He discovered the body of Hilaria Blake, dead of a drug overdose, in her home. Hilaria left behind a 15-year-old daughter and a 5-year-old son. Cormac Reilly has never forgotten them.

    Aisling Conroy is a surgical resident, working hard to become a surgeon. She and her boyfriend Jack Blake are happy together. Aisling goes to sleep one morning after nig
    ...more