Read The Devil's Half Mile by Paddy Hirsch Online

The Devil's Half Mile

Fans of Caleb Carr, Erik Larsen, and Gangs of New York will love this riveting historical thriller debut, set in a 1799 New York City.Seven years after a financial crisis nearly toppled America, traders chafe at government regulations, racial tensions are rising, and corrupt financiers make back-door deals with politicians... 1799 was a hell of a year.Thanks to Alexander Hamilton, America recovered from the financial panic of 1792, but the young country is still finding its way. When a young lawyer returns to prove his father's innocence, he exposes a massive financial fraud that the perpetrators are determined to keep secret at any cost. And reaching the highest levels, the looming crisis could topple the nation....

Title : The Devil's Half Mile
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780765399137
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Devil's Half Mile

DWD Devil s Lake Home The perfect midsummer road trip trail run Just north of Madison lies Devil s Lake, an area of amazing geological, ice age creation, the perfect backdrop for an Devil Dog Double Historic Half Marine Marathon It s . miles and two triumphant climbs up Hospital Hill in one morning The Devil Dog Double combines the Semper ive, a five mile run starting in Fredericksburg s Devil s Path hiking trail Wikipedia The Devil s Path is a hiking trail in the Greene County section of the Catskill Mountains of New York, sometimes described as one of the challenging trails in Devil s Dyke and the World s Grandest View Walks Devil s Dyke and the World s Grandest View is an AA recommend walk with full walking directions and descriptions of places of interests along the walk Find AA Devil s Bowl Speedway New England s Fastest Dirt New England s Fastest Dirt Track Mile Banked Clay Oval NASCAR Racing Sunday Nights Route A, West Haven, VT Devil Mud Run Gloucestershire Mud Run Devil Mud Run DEVIL MUD RUN is a hardcore, hilly kilometer mud run course in Gloucestershire featuring over obstacles. Devil s Millhopper Geological State Park Map, Online guide to the beautiful Devil s Millhopper Geological State Park in Gainesville, Florida Our site has a map, directions, photos, history, hours, fees, and The Devil s Chair in the San Gabriel Mountains Modern Hiker The Devil s Chair is a narrow rocky ledge that offers exceptional views of the otherworldly landscape of the Devil s Punchbowl. Devil s Den State Park, Arkansas Devil s Den State Park is an Arkansas icon It is a beloved natural and historic treasure where over the decades park visitors have made memories to cherish a lifetime. Home Calico Racing Races Running With the Devil Jun , ET Full Moon Aug , Devil After Dark Sep , Twilight Red Rock Oct , Out with the Old

The Devil's Half Mile Reviews

  • Charlotte

    I liked this book at first. It is historical fiction, based in the 1790's in a new America. The main character, Justy, has returned from law school in Ireland to New York. New York is a boisterous and bawdy place full of immigrants of every nationality. Justy wants to search out the details to his father's suicide. He does not believe his father would have killed himself over bad investments the way his colleagues claim that he did. Justy believes his father was murdered.

    I won't give much away
    ...more

  • Elaine

    I came for the historic fiction, I stayed for the slang: "Even if you've managed to kimbaw some topping men into your dirty sham, that doesn't mean you've got New York by the nutmegs. And it doesn't make you any less of a gammon-hawking, bully-trap madge." Complete with a glossary to help spice up your next diatribe.

  • Katie B

    IT's 1799 and it seems like just about everyone in New York is corrupt. Justy Flanagan has just returned from Ireland after studying to become a lawyer. He is intent on proving his father did not commit suicide years ago and is hoping to find the murderer. As he searches for answers, he uncovers a massive fraud that runs deep and continues to claim lives.

    I was excited to read this book that takes place in the late 1700s because while I like to read historical fiction, I rarely read anything tha
    ...more

  • Kim Deutschman

    Decent story, but I found the use of all the Irish slang terms to be very distracting. I had to keep looking at the glossary at the end of the book so much I would lose track of what was going on in the story. I just didn’t really care what happened to majority of the characters. The only thing I really cared about was who was the murderer. If they do turn this into a series, which is certainly possible given the book ending, I will not be continuing it.

  • Joan

    Being a big fan of history, I really enjoyed this book. Recommended reading.

  • Alaina Maxam

    THIS WAS A WELL WRITTEN STORY

  • Jaclyn

    *I won this book in a Goodreads Giveaway in exchange for an honest opinion*

    I really enjoyed this book. I thought it had a lot of interesting elements to it. The financial aspect was interesting, it was neat reading about how corrupt Wall Street was back then without the regulations we have today. The racial angle was well handled and I like how the book focused on the negative attitudes towards black people and Irish people. I especially like how it focused on the attitudes towards the Irish, as
    ...more