Read The Space Barons: Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest to Colonize the Cosmos by Christian Davenport Online

The Space Barons: Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest to Colonize the Cosmos

The historic quest to rekindle the human exploration and colonization of space led by two rivals and their vast fortunes, egos, and visions of space as the next entrepreneurial frontierThe Space Barons is the story of a group of billionaire entrepreneurs who are pouring their fortunes into the epic resurrection of the American space program. Nearly a half-century after Neil Armstrong walked on the moon, these Space Barons-most notably Elon Musk and Jeff Bezos, along with Richard Branson and Paul Allen-are using Silicon Valley-style innovation to dramatically lower the cost of space travel, and send humans even further than NASA has gone. These entrepreneurs have founded some of the biggest brands in the world-Amazon, Microsoft, Virgin, Tesla, PayPal-and upended industry after industry. Now they are pursuing the biggest disruption of all: space.Based on years of reporting and exclusive interviews with all four billionaires, this authoritative account is a dramatic tale of risk and high adventure, the birth of a new Space Age, fueled by some of the world's richest men as they struggle to end governments' monopoly on the cosmos. The Space Barons is also a story of rivalry-hard-charging startups warring with established contractors, and the personal clashes of the leaders of this new space movement, particularly Musk and Bezos, as they aim for the moon and Mars and beyond....

Title : The Space Barons: Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest to Colonize the Cosmos
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781610398299
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 320 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Space Barons: Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest to Colonize the Cosmos

The Space Barons Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest The Space Barons Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest to Colonize the Cosmos Kindle edition by Christian Davenport Download it once and read it on your Kindle The Space Barons Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest The Space Barons tells the story of how Elon Musk and Jeff Bezos, along with Richard Branson and Paul Allen, are using Silicon Valley style innovation to dramatically The Space Barons Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest The historic quest to rekindle the human exploration and colonization of space led by two rivals and their vast fortunes, egos, and visions of space as the next In This Space Race, Jeff Bezos and Elon Musk Are THE SPACE BARONS Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest to Colonize the Cosmos By Christian Davenport Illustrated SpaceX and Elon Musk s rival companies and how their Elon Musk of SpaceX left and Jeff Bezos of Blue Origin right are caught in a new space race featuring reusable rocket systems Samantha Lee Business Insider Rocket Billionaires Versus Space Barons forbes Fans of Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, Paul Allen, Richard Branson and the privatization of space should celebrate Two new books just came out that document the Elon Musk says his next spaceship The Washington Post For years, Elon Musk has been focused on building a colony on Mars That s why he founded SpaceX in , and it s been the driving force behind the After rocket explosion, Elon Musk s SpaceX looked His rocket had blown up into a spectacular fireball The Cape Canaveral launchpad that SpaceX had essentially built from scratch was now in ashes And Elon Jeff Bezos How starting Blue Origin nearly killed the However, as Washington Post writer Christian Davenport explains in the first chapter of his new book, The Space Barons Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest to ICM Sagalyn A literary agency based in the heart of Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest to Colonize the Cosmos

The Space Barons: Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest to Colonize the Cosmos Reviews

  • Orest Bodnar

    Great insights into the history of high-profile billionaires pursing their dreams and spending their money on rockets. Would have been nice if he contrasted their pursuits with the likes of Bill Gates and his pursuit to make a better world by donating much of his fortune to charity. A little repetitive at times. Also, largely avoids telling the stories of non-billionaire run private companies pursing space exploration (like Orbital Sciences). But overall an entertaining read.

  • Nikki "The Crazie Betty" V.

    I requested this book from Netgalley for a few different reasons. The number one reason being that I’m slightly obsessed with humanity’s scientific journey to attempt to get us in to space. My husband has heard me say more than once that, given the opportunity, I would gladly upend my life and go live on Mars to assist in terraforming. I’ve just always been interested in space, and space exploration and ultimately am a little resentful of the fact that I will most likely never get to see what’s ...more

  • Dee Arr

    The full title of this book, The Space Barons: Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest to Colonize the Cosmos, emphasizes the battle between two of the main figures in the book. While I understand the name-dropping can potentially help in selling more copies, I feel it is important to mention others featured in the book: Paul Allen (Microsoft co-founder), Burt Rutan (not a “Baron,” but important for his role), and Sir Richard Branson (Virgin Group).

    I chose to read this book because of my previous i
    ...more

  • Tom Kammerer

    Fascinating, real page turner, excited to follow progress on these fronts; heartening to see wealth directed on these paths

  • Victoria

    Thanks to Perseus Books, Public Affairs and Netgalley for the ARC of this fantastic non-fiction work. Admittedly, I am a bit of a space geek, but I don’t think you have to be to enjoy this. The new space race competition by 21st century billionaires is fascinating and exciting. The writing was very good, the pace was perfect.

  • Shawn

    Good rundown of Bezos, Branson, Musk and Paul Allen and their contributions to the new space race.

  • Gary Moreau

    This book is a thorough and professional review of the current state of space flight in the US. As the cover promises, it’s a tale filled with the current rock stars of capitalism: Musk, Bezos, Branson, et al. And a few names that have made history but aren’t quite as familiar: Burt Rutan, Mike Melvill, and a host of others.

    It’s a book of tales, not technology, and that’s great for most readers. And the stories and subplots are magnificent and glorious; just what you’d expect from men who have a
    ...more

  • Alex Devero

    The Space Barons offers the reader a sneak peek into how some of the world's wealthiest individuals are commercializing space. It shows how these individuals are competing against each other, in a good sense, in the race to be the leaders of the emerging space industry. This book is full of interesting and insightful stories mapping the creation of space companies such as SpaceX (Elon Musk), Virgin Galactic (Richard Branson) and Blue Origin (Jeff Bezos). These stories shows how many obstacles pe ...more