Read All the Ever Afters: The Untold Story of Cinderella’s Stepmother by Danielle Teller Online

All the Ever Afters: The Untold Story of Cinderella’s Stepmother

In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderellas evil stepmother.We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we?As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess Cinderella roil the kingdom, her stepmother, Agnes, who knows all too well about hardship, privately records the true story. . . .A peasant born into serfdom, Agnes is separated from her family and forced into servitude as a laundresss apprentice when she is only ten years old. Using her wits and ingenuity, she escapes her tyrannical matron and makes her way toward a hopeful future. When teenaged Agnes is seduced by an older man and becomes pregnant, she is transformed by love for her child. Once again left penniless, Agnes has no choice but to return to servitude at the manor she thought she had left behind. Her new position is nursemaid to Ella, an otherworldly infant. She struggles to love the child who in time becomes her stepdaughter and, eventually, the celebrated princess who embodies everyones unattainable fantasies. The story of their relationship reveals that nothing is what it seems, that beauty is not always desirable, and that love can take on many guises.Lyrically told, emotionally evocative, and brilliantly perceptive, All the Ever Afters explores the hidden complexities that lie beneath classic tales of good and evil, all the while showing us that how we confront adversity reveals a more profound, and ultimately more important, truth than the ideal of happily ever after....

Title : All the Ever Afters: The Untold Story of Cinderella’s Stepmother
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062798206
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 384 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » All the Ever Afters: The Untold Story of Cinderella’s Stepmother

All the Ever Afters The Untold Story of Cinderella s All the Ever Afters The Untold Story of Cinderella s Stepmother Danielle Teller on FREE shipping on qualifying offers In the vein of Wicked, The All the Ever Afters The Untold Story of Cinderella s All the Ever Afters The Untold Story of Cinderella s Stepmother Kindle edition by Danielle Teller Download it once and read it on your Kindle device, PC, phones Review Author unravels new view of Cinderella story All the Ever Afters The Untold Story of Cinderella s Stepmother William Morrow , by Danielle Teller Have you ever considered the beloved fairy tale of London Public Library London Public Library ALERT We will be updating the phone system at all library locations this week June Please use on Wednesday, June to be connected to any Addison Public Library Main Street, Illinois A memorable and fun filled tour of the charms, traditions, and personalities of our Illinois towns led by the only person who has visited and West Florida Public Libraries Informing People The Official Website of West Florida Public Libraries, serving Escambia County, Florida Mesa Public Library Robert F Kennedy ripples of hope Kerry Kennedy in conversation with heads of state, business leaders, influencers, and activists about her father s impact on Ocean County Library System The unofficial guide to Walt Disney World Sehlinger, Bob, author Frenemies the epic disruption of the ad business and everything else Buropro Citation Buropro Citation est une entreprise % qubcoise avec des magasins concepts Beloeil, Drummondville, Granby, Saint Hyacinthe et Victoriaville Nous sommes KJZY . FM Sonoma County s Freshest Sound, KJZY, Sonoma County s Smooth Jazz We ve got all you need to know about what s going on in and around Sonoma County right here

All the Ever Afters: The Untold Story of Cinderella’s Stepmother Reviews

  • Carrie

    All the Ever Afters: The Untold Story of Cinderella’s Stepmother by Danielle Teller is a fantasy retelling. Taking on the idea that every story has different sides readers get to know Cinderella's stepmother from her point of view from childhood until after Cinderella's wedding. I would warn of the sexual content within this one making it for mature readers.

    Agnes was born a peasant and while her family found a husband for her sister Agnes was turned over to work as a servant at the age of ten. S
    ...more

  • Deanna

    My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...

    3.5 Stars

    “We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we?”

    I’ve never been big of fairy tales, but the description of this novel had me intrigued. “All the Ever Afters” is the story of Princess Cinderella told from the point of view of her stepmother, Agnes.

    Agnes has heard all of the rumors….how cruel she apparently was to Elfilda (Ella), that Ella’s step-sisters vied for Prince Henry’s attention, and so much more.

    “Compell
    ...more

  • Astro Teller

    THIS BOOK IS NOT (strictly speaking) FANTASY.

    All the Ever Afters is a thoughtful reimagining of the characters from Cinderella as real people in a real medieval setting. The plot has a nested structure, with the familiar details of the fairy tale embedded in the longer rags-to-riches arc of the stepmother's narrative. The book can be enjoyed on many levels; even the insightful stepmother is not always fully aware of the layers of psychological complexity that underlie her words.

    That's my public
    ...more

  • Jeanette

    Oh did I enjoy this read! Having it come between so many modern ambitious, word sodden, and often times pretentious reads, both fiction and non-fiction, how very refreshing.

    Yes, there is sickness, poverty of material and experience, often ignorant or narrow minded characters, and some sex or marriage ploys of those medieval times. But overall it is rather triumphant. It's the fairy tale told in a non-fairy tale way. And I loved it.

    Two reasons come to mind that made it outstanding in the present
    ...more

  • Kris - My Novelesque Life

    RATING: 3 STARS

    (I received an ARC from the EDELWEISS)

    (Review Not on Blog)

    Listened to on Audio

    Retellings are always a hit or miss for me. I really enjoyed the film version of Ever After (about Cinderella) so I was excited to read this retelling of the stepmother's story. You always wonder about the villains and how they came to be so cruel. Or, is that just the Psychology major in me? Lol. I don't know if it is the timing or mood, but I just could not get into this story. It was well-written but
    ...more

  • Isabella Conti



    When I reached the end and closed this book, I felt fulfilled, and at so many levels. The language captured me first. What a complete command of expressions! A pleasure to watch its secure stroke, its expert unfolding; a painting that becomes sculpture and walks you all around an image, a scene, a character, a plot. An exquisite mastery of the written word that reminds of Umberto Eco. I even found a few words I had to look up, yet so expertly placed in the context that, from the way they fitted,
    ...more

  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)

    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/

    See my mediocre book pics here

    3.5 Stars

    “Everyone knows the story about Prince Henry’s hunt for the beautiful girl he met at the ball, how he searched from house to house, asking every unmarried woman in five parishes to try on the glass slippers. That is a pretty tale. As usual, the truth is more mundane.”

    Is there anyone out there who wouldn’t want to be like this rather than one of those mealy-mouthed princesses?????



    Or even like t
    ...more

  • Kevin Cullen

    What’s a good novel for if not to whisk us away from every day life and transport us to another place and time, a chance to escape and be entertained by way of a captivating tale. “All the Ever Afters” delivers in spades! Danielle Teller’s well crafted, fresh new take on an old Fairy Tale, captured my imagination with her depiction of Cinderella’s family and their before unknown struggles. I was completely drawn in by their constant tussle between good and evil, love and beauty and the ever twis ...more