Read The Past Is Never by Tiffany Quay Tyson Online

The Past Is Never

A compelling addition to contemporary Southern Gothic fiction, deftly weaving together local legends, magical realism, and the search for a missing child.Siblings Bert, Willet, and Pansy know better than to go swimming at the old rock quarry. According to their father, it's the devil's place, a place that's been cursed and forgotten. But Mississippi Delta summer days are scorching hot and they can't resist cooling off in the dark, bottomless water. Until the day six-year-old Pansy disappears. Not drowned, not lost . . . simply gone.After years with no sign, no hope of ever finding Pansy alive, Bert and Willet have tried to move on. But as surely as their mother died of a broken heart, they can't let go. So when clues surface drawing them to the remote tip of Florida, they drop everything and drive south. Deep in the murky depths of the Florida Everglades they may find the answer to Pansy's mysterious disappearance . . . but truth, like the past, is sometimes better left where it lies.Perfect for fans of Flannery O'Connor and Dorothy Allison, The Past Is Never is an atmospheric, haunting story of myths, legends, and the good and evil we carry in our hearts....

Title : The Past Is Never
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781510726826
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Past Is Never

SQA NQ Past papers and marking instructions Specimen question papers are available for National , Higher and Advanced Higher qualifications Exemplar question papers are available for Higher and Advanced NASA Missions A Z NASA NASA brings you the latest images, videos and news from America s space agency Get the latest updates on NASA missions, watch NASA TV live, and learn about our Contractor Performance Assessment Reporting System Welcome to CPARS CPARS hosts a suite of web enabled applications that are used to document contractor and grantee performance information that is required by Federal Pastpaper Crinkley Bottom Books do we purchase old magazines birthday anniversaries magazines program for investment firms check out our current ebay auctions what our customers are saying Passages to the Past What would you do to possess the most coveted color in the world The year is , and a headstrong woman artist, year old Genevieve Planche, is caught up in a United States Geological Survey USGS Earthquakes USGS Earthquake Hazards Program, responsible for monitoring, reporting, and researching earthquakes and earthquake hazards A Son Took His Mother Out Fishing She Never Came Back. When rescuers found Nathan Carman after seven days at sea, his mother Linda Carman had vanished without a trace But his past was about to resurface. Congo s Never Ending War The New York Times Congo has become a never ending nightmare, one of the bloodiest conflicts since World War II, with than five million dead It seems incomprehensible Grammar Bytes The Noun The Noun Recognize a noun when you see one George Jupiter Ice cream Courage Books Bottles Godzilla All of these words are nouns, words that identify Past Award Winners Boston Society of Film Critics December th Best Picture La La Land Best Actor Casey Affleck for Manchester by the Sea Best Actress Isabelle Huppert for Elle and Things to Come

The Past Is Never Reviews

  • Talk Supe

    I have a thing for motives and endings when it comes to plot drivers. I appreciate a good mystery & would chase it til the last page given that it SHOULD make sense in the end. Though I love some parts of of this book, I dislike the ending because it felt shallow and, IMHO, didn’t justify the hardships Willet & Bert went through. I’ve gotten invested not just in this siblings’ quest to find the truth, but also rooted for them hoping all the heartaches will be worth something in the end. ...more

  • Mary Beth *Traveling Sister*



    On a hot summer day, Bert, Willet, and Pansy went swimming swimming in the quarry in Missippi Delta.

    They were not allowed to swim there since it was known to be cursed. Their father always told them that it was evil, the devil's place. Bert and Willet wander off and when they come back, Pansy has disappeared. Not drowned, not lost... simply gone. Pansy is only 6 years old. They keep looking and hunting for her. They looked years for her. They were Pansy's brother and sister. Their mother died o
    ...more

  • Norma * Traveling Sister

    Wow! So many great books that I have read since my little reading break! I loved this one and what an absolutely wonderful ending!!!

    Review to follow soon!

    Thank you so much to Edelweiss for the opportunity to read an advanced copy of this book in exchange for a review!

  • Theresa Alan

    This is a sumptuously written novel. Told from the point of view of Bert (Roberta Lynn), she’s fourteen years old when she and her sixteen-year-old brother Willet go in search of berries, leaving their six-year-old sister Pansy swimming in the quarry. Pansy is the strongest swimmer of them all, and, even though their father has told them the quarry is cursed, it’s a brutally hot summer day, who wouldn’t want the relief of cool water to swim in?

    Willet and Bert get separated in the woods, but when
    ...more

  • Jim Ringel

    Tiffany Quay Tyson’s The Past is Never begins as a mystery about a child’s disappearance, grows into an indictment of racism and the hatred and despair it weaves through a society, and then blossoms into full redemption. The book is a dark journey of the soul that illuminates into a blessed ending.

    The missing child, Pansy, is the youngest of three children in a rural Mississippi family. The father is a gadfly, never at home, leaving the children in the care of their overworked momma. One day, Pa
    ...more

  • Susan Obryan

    Is the past ever dead? Can it be put behind you, and if so, how far back in the past can you leave something? Can the present – and future – be affected by a past you didn’t even realize existed?

    Those are the questions readers will be asking themselves after the final page is turned in “The Past is Never,” the latest novel by Tiffany Quay Tyson. The author first left her mark in Southern fiction with “Three Rivers,” a finalist in the Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters Award for Fiction.

    W
    ...more

  • Judith

    Tiffany Quay Tyson transported this westerner to the South with superb, rich language, and I loved living there! The details she used to paint place left me feeling I am expert myself. This is the experience I love in a novel. The characters are authentic with their quirks and mixed motives, and I fell for Bert (main character and narrator) immediately. There are captivating twists and turns and trips back through history. I always looked forward to picking up this book. For me, that’s a special ...more