Read White Houses by Amy Bloom Online

White Houses

For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a "sensuous, captivating account of a forbidden affair between two women" (People)--Eleanor Roosevelt and "first friend" Lorena Hickok.Lorena Hickok meets Eleanor Roosevelt in 1932 while reporting on Franklin Roosevelt's first presidential campaign. Having grown up worse than poor in South Dakota and reinvented herself as the most prominent woman reporter in America, "Hick," as she's known to her friends and admirers, is not quite instantly charmed by the idealistic, patrician Eleanor. But then, as her connection with the future first lady deepens into intimacy, what begins as a powerful passion matures into a lasting love, and a life that Hick never expected to have. She moves into the White House, where her status as "first friend" is an open secret, as are FDR's own lovers. After she takes a job in the Roosevelt administration, promoting and protecting both Roosevelts, she comes to know Franklin not only as a great president but as a complicated rival and an irresistible friend, capable of changing lives even after his death. Through it all, even as Hick's bond with Eleanor is tested by forces both extraordinary and common, and as she grows as a woman and a writer, she never loses sight of the love of her life.From Washington, D.C. to Hyde Park, from a little white house on Long Island to an apartment on Manhattan's Washington Square, Amy Bloom's new novel moves elegantly through fascinating places and times, written in compelling prose and with emotional depth, wit, and acuity.Praise for White Houses"Amy Bloom brings an untold slice of history so dazzlingly and devastatingly to life, it took my breath away."--Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife"Vivid and tender . . . Bloom--interweaving fact and fancy--lavishes attention on Hickok, bringing Hick, the novel's narrator and true subject, to radiant life."--O: The Oprah Magazine"Radiant . . . an indelible love story, one propelled not by unlined youth and beauty but by the kind of soul-mate connection even distance, age, and impossible circumstances couldn't dim . . . Bloom's goal is less to relitigate history than to portray the blandly sexless figurehead of First Lady as something the job rarely allows those women to be--a loving, breathing human being. And she does it brilliantly."--Entertainment Weekly...

Title : White Houses
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780525589921
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 320 pages
Url Type : Home » White » White Houses

White Houses A Novel For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a sensuous, captivating account of a forbidden affair between two women People Eleanor White Houses by Amy Bloom Goodreads White Houses has , ratings and reviews Larry said Fifty five years after her death, and than years after she left the White House follo White Houses by Amy Bloom, Hardcover Barnes Amy Bloom brings an untold slice of history so dazzlingly and devastatingly to life, it took my breath away Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife A novel White Houses by Vanessa Carlton Songfacts White Houses by Vanessa Carlton song meaning, lyric interpretation, video and chart position The White Houses of Crete, Makrigialos Your holiday The White Houses of Crete Holiday villas and apartments next to the picturesque old harbour of Makrigialos Makry Gialos Book your holiday here. Whitehouses Inn, Retford, Nottinghamshire Traditional Whitehouses Inn, Retford, Nottinghamshire Traditional Pub and Dining, award winning family run restaurant providing high quality food and service in friendly Property and houses to rent in White River White Property to rent in White River The largest selection of apartments, flats, farms, repossessed property, private property and houses to Rent in White River by estate Houses For Sale Ray White Ray White agents are passionate about real estate and specialise in all aspects of the property market They have access to an expansive range of resources and are How big is the White House White House Historical The White House is feet . meters longThe White House is feet inches . meters wide without porticoes feet wide with porticoes.The overall White Plains Real Estate Find Houses Homes for Sale Search White Plains real estate property listings to find homes for sale in White Plains, NY Browse houses for sale in White Plains today

White Houses Reviews

  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede

    I first read about Lorena Hickok and Eleanor Roosevelt last year when I read Loving Eleanor by Susan Wittig Albert. It's a fabulous book, deep and well researched. And I loved it. So, when I learned about White Houses by Amy Bloom was I curious about how it would be. I'm glad to say that this one is also very good, well-written and engrossing.

    I'm fascinated by the Roosevelt family and even though FDR is my favorite do I find Eleanor Roosevelt to be such an interesting woman. This book is a fict
    ...more

  • Debbie

    3.5

    I forgot, folks, I forgot!


    I forgot I don’t like historical fiction that’s based on famous people. Why was my memory snoozing when I picked up this book? I remember (of course, too late) that I swore off reading such books after I finished Twain's End and suddenly thought Mark Twain was a jerk. I used to like Mark Twain, but after reading that book, where it shows how he ruined his mistress’s life, I hate his guts. I even researched the facts a little, and yep, it appears he really was a basta
    ...more

  • Betsy Robinson

    After you’ve read a number of books by an author, you may be able to pinpoint where they hit you. For me, Amy Bloom’s luscious writing lands in my mouth. Specifically, my taste buds. And my mouth waters as I read as if I’ve been served my fantasy feast and it’s just for me and I can eat it as slowly or as quickly as I please and make all the private pleasure sounds you don’t make in public because this experience is mine, mine, mine—intimate and private.

    Her new book, like her previous novels Awa

    In grateful Memory of

    Teacher . . .

    Who led a little girl out of the dark

    And gave to the world . . .


    Helen Keller


    Now that I know so much more about Hickok, I understand this quote in my heart.



    Hickok's bio, at that time.

    A Note about Reading a Digital Version

    I bought the Kindle version of this book and I attribute some confusion in following time-hopping transitions to that. I imagine that the design elements—which were in the Kindle version—separating time jumps would have been clearer on a printed page. I've read Bloom's previous novels in hardcover and am fairly sure she used this device in them—delineated by leaders, asterisks, and double spacing—with no confusion. Lesson: real books are almost always a better reading experience.



    Panel Discussion

    I saw Amy Bloom in conversation with Blanche Wiesen Cook, the historian who wrote the biography that inspired Bloom's novel, at Roosevelt House (where Roosevelt and Hick first met). Here's my blog. ...more

  • Cheri

    !! NOW AVAILABLE !!

    “In many dreams I've held you near,

    Now, at last, you're really here.

    “Where have you been?

    I've looked for you forever and a day

    Where have you been?

    I'm just not myself when you're away”


    -- Where Have You Been lyrics by Kathy Mattea

    When Franklin D. Roosevelt was campaigning to become the 32nd President, Lorena Hickok was one of many reporters covering his campaign. Through this, she meets, and is befriended by Eleanor Roosevelt, despite their vast differences, economically an
    ...more

  • Karen

    This book is a work of fiction based on the relationship of Eleanor Roosevelt and her long time friend and companion, Lorena Hickock. Lorena’s voice narrates this story.

    They both seemed to be lost souls that found together, what they both never had in life, and it was written in a beautiful and intimate way.

    Thank you to NetGalley and Random House for the advanced copy!

  • Tasha

    In the end, or from the start, this really wasn't for me. I was excited to read this but it really fell flat almost from the start. It felt more like a desperate romance with focus on the physical and not the more emotional connection between two people that I expected. The timeline jumped all over the place and made the story feel disjointed. I know this book gets lots of love from other readers but it just didn't work for me at all.

    Thank you to Netgalley and Random House for a copy of this eb
    ...more

  • Jenny (Reading Envy)

    I was really looking forward to this book. I'm a longtime fan of Amy Bloom, and like how she writes somewhat quirky people inside relationships.

    I like the idea of reading the untold story of the unknown (but open secret) lesbian lover of one of the greatest first ladies we've ever had in the United States.

    But I think the author's lack of experience in writing historical fiction does not serve her well here. The pieces of the story are interesting but yet it is somehow not very well told.

    It ma
    ...more

  • *TUDOR^QUEEN*

    This is a work of historical fiction about first lady Eleanor Roosevelt and her romantic relationship with American journalist Lorena Hickok (nicknamed "Hick"). Born in Wisconsin, Hickok triumphed over a disastrous childhood to eventually become a reporter for the Associated Press (AP). She was assigned to cover Franklin D. Roosevelt's first presidential campaign when she established a close friendship with the future First Lady.

    I had an unusual experience reading this book in that I tore throu
    ...more