Read White Houses by Amy Bloom Online

White Houses

For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a "sensuous, captivating account of a forbidden affair between two women" (People)--Eleanor Roosevelt and "first friend" Lorena Hickok.Lorena Hickok meets Eleanor Roosevelt in 1932 while reporting on Franklin Roosevelt's first presidential campaign. Having grown up worse than poor in South Dakota and reinvented herself as the most prominent woman reporter in America, "Hick," as she's known to her friends and admirers, is not quite instantly charmed by the idealistic, patrician Eleanor. But then, as her connection with the future first lady deepens into intimacy, what begins as a powerful passion matures into a lasting love, and a life that Hick never expected to have. She moves into the White House, where her status as "first friend" is an open secret, as are FDR's own lovers. After she takes a job in the Roosevelt administration, promoting and protecting both Roosevelts, she comes to know Franklin not only as a great president but as a complicated rival and an irresistible friend, capable of changing lives even after his death. Through it all, even as Hick's bond with Eleanor is tested by forces both extraordinary and common, and as she grows as a woman and a writer, she never loses sight of the love of her life.From Washington, D.C. to Hyde Park, from a little white house on Long Island to an apartment on Manhattan's Washington Square, Amy Bloom's new novel moves elegantly through fascinating places and times, written in compelling prose and with emotional depth, wit, and acuity.Praise for White Houses"Amy Bloom brings an untold slice of history so dazzlingly and devastatingly to life, it took my breath away."--Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife"Vivid and tender . . . Bloom--interweaving fact and fancy--lavishes attention on Hickok, bringing Hick, the novel's narrator and true subject, to radiant life."--O: The Oprah Magazine"Radiant . . . an indelible love story, one propelled not by unlined youth and beauty but by the kind of soul-mate connection even distance, age, and impossible circumstances couldn't dim . . . Bloom's goal is less to relitigate history than to portray the blandly sexless figurehead of First Lady as something the job rarely allows those women to be--a loving, breathing human being. And she does it brilliantly."--Entertainment Weekly...

Title : White Houses
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780525589921
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 320 pages
Url Type : Home » White » White Houses
white cadbury creme egg white stuff white company white gold white noise white dress white chicks white rose white trainers white background white collar white converse white vinegar white city house white hart lane white post farm white stuff sale white fox boutique white noise baby white houses book white houses greece white houses retford white houses amy bloom white houses lyrics white houses london white houses official voice white houses cannock white houses garage retford white houses lardos rhodes white houses vanessa carlton white houses book review white houses italy white houses for sale white houses amy bloom review white houses of lardos white houses amy bloom amazon white houses in santorini white houses uk white houses with blue roofs

White Houses A Novel For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a sensuous, captivating account of a forbidden affair between two women People Eleanor White Houses by Amy Bloom Goodreads White Houses has , ratings and , reviews Larry said Fifty five years after her death, and than years after she left the White House fol White Houses A Novel Kindle edition by Amy Bloom White Houses A Novel Kindle edition by Amy Bloom Download it once and read it on your Kindle device, PC, phones or tablets Use features like bookmarks, note Whitehouses Inn, Retford, Nottinghamshire Traditional Whitehouses Inn, Retford, Nottinghamshire Traditional Pub and Dining, award winning family run restaurant providing high quality food and service in friendly Property and houses for sale in White River White Property for sale in White River The largest selection of apartments, flats, farms, repossessed property, private property and houses for Sale in White River by Houses For Sale Ray White Ray White agents are passionate about real estate and specialise in all aspects of the property market They have access to an expansive range of resources and are Amy Bloom s White Houses is a remarkable work of Amy Bloom s remarkable White Houses turns Eleanor Roosevelt into an indelible romantic heroine EW review White Rabbit Teahouse Vintage Styled Teahouses in Two traditional teahouses in Nottingham city centre, serving up home made cakes, scones light lunches throughout the day. Amy Bloom Imagines Eleanor Roosevelt s Love in White In White Houses, Amy Bloom created a novel out of the long standing affair between Eleanor Roosevelt and reporter Lorena Hickok. How big is the White House White House Historical The White House is feet . meters longThe White House is feet inches . meters wide without porticoes feet wide with porticoes.The overall

White Houses Reviews

  • Elyse

    The writing by Amy Bloom in “White Houses” is beautiful.....soooo lovely!!!

    We learn a lot about Lorena Hickok, American journalist: her troubled childhood in South Dakota of sexual abuse - abandonment- poverty - and starting out on her own from an early age.

    Lorena also disclosed her relationship with Eleanor Roosevelt. — All from Lorena Hickok’s perspective. Sure feels real to me... but it’s written as fiction. Amy Bloom did tremendous research - she went through three THOUSAND letters alone -
    ...more

  • Esil

    White Houses is a fictionalized account of Eleanor Roosevelt's relationship with Lorena Hickok. The novel is narrated from Hickok's perspective. It's more of a character study than a story. Hickok recounts part of her childhood, and moves back and forth in time, always coming back to the few days following FDR's death. What made this worth reading to me were the writing and the sharply drawn personalities of these characters. Bloom makes it easy to understand what drew these women together and p ...more

  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede

    I first read about Lorena Hickok and Eleanor Roosevelt last year when I read Loving Eleanor by Susan Wittig Albert. It's a fabulous book, deep and well researched. And I loved it. So, when I learned about White Houses by Amy Bloom was I curious about how it would be. I'm glad to say that this one is also very good, well-written and engrossing.

    I'm fascinated by the Roosevelt family and even though FDR is my favorite do I find Eleanor Roosevelt to be such an interesting woman. This book is a fict
    ...more

  • Debbie

    3.5

    I forgot, folks, I forgot!


    I forgot I don’t like historical fiction that’s based on famous people. Why was my memory snoozing when I picked up this book? I remember (of course, too late) that I swore off reading such books after I finished Twain's End and suddenly thought Mark Twain was a jerk. I used to like Mark Twain, but after reading that book, where it shows how he ruined his mistress’s life, I hate his guts. I even researched the facts a little, and yep, it appears he really was a basta
    ...more

  • Tasha

    In the end, or from the start, this really wasn't for me. I was excited to read this but it really fell flat almost from the start. It felt more like a desperate romance with focus on the physical and not the more emotional connection between two people that I expected. The timeline jumped all over the place and made the story feel disjointed. I know this book gets lots of love from other readers but it just didn't work for me at all.

    Thank you to Netgalley and Random House for a copy of this eb
    ...more

  • Roman Clodia

    I said that the Potsdam diner was a delight. She said that after the funeral there was corned beef and cabbage and homemade beer. She said the service was Irish Catholic and heartfelt. I hung up my coat and made a show of taking out my notebook and doing my job, and asking about her husband's ambitions.


    Lordy lord, if you can manage to read such flat, 'told', random prose then you're more tolerant than I am. I'm really intrigued by this relationship between Eleanor Roosevelt and 'Hick', a lesbi ...more

  • ☮Karen

    3.5 stars.

    This is a love story, one not like any romance I have ever read where my eyes roll at the sugary sweet dialog. Amy Bloom writes of love as if it's a part of the most beautiful birds, flowers, and sunsets found in nature. I found her descriptions just breathtaking.

    This is a forbidden love between the First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt and a female journalist known as Hick. To read the author's take on their relationship, their intimate moments, you understand it fully even though Bloom took t
    ...more

  • Sharon Metcalf

    3.5 stars

    Isn't it wonderful when reading a work of fiction peaks your interest in a topic,  makes you hunger for information and eager to research the facts?     That's how it was for me reading White Houses by Amy Bloom.    Touted as entirely fictional, White Houses put forward one possible version of the relationship between Eleanor Roosevelt and her very dear friend Lorena Hickok.   In this story, there is no doubt theirs was a physical relationship, an on and off again love affair which endu
    ...more