Read Closer Than You Know by Brad Parks Online

Closer Than You Know

Brad Parks delivers another riveting, emotionally powerful stand-alone domestic suspense thriller perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and What She Knew.Disaster, Melanie Barrick was once told, is always closer than you know.It was a lesson she learned the hard way growing up in the constant upheaval of foster care. But now that she's survived into adulthood--with a loving husband, a steady job, and a beautiful baby boy named Alex--she thought that turmoil was behind her. Until one Monday evening when she goes to pick up Alex from childcare only to discover he's been removed by Social Services. And no one will say why. It's a terrifying scenario for any parent, but doubly so for Melanie, who knows the unintended horrors of what everyone coldly calls "the system." Her nightmare mushrooms when she arrives home to learn her house has been raided by sheriff's deputies, who have found enough cocaine to send Melanie to prison for years. The evidence against her is overwhelming, and if Melanie can't prove her innocence, she'll lose Alex forever. Meanwhile, assistant commonwealth's attorney Amy Kaye--who has been assigned Melanie's case--has her own troubles. She's been dogged by a cold case no one wants her to pursue: a serial rapist who has avoided detection by wearing a mask and whispering his commands. Over the years, he has victimized dozens of women.Including Melanie. Yet now her attacker might be the key to her salvation . . . or her undoing....

Title : Closer Than You Know
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781101985625
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 402 pages
Url Type : Home » Closer » Closer Than You Know

Featured Question with Forrest Are Searchers Closer than The convoluted way that the third question was worded, left Forrest a lot of wiggle room I will assume that JDiggins wanted to know if anyone other than those that Race and Justice Much More Than You Wanted To Know Responses to Race and Justice Much More Than You Wanted To Know Analysis Iran and Israel draw closer to war than ever On a January weekend in , an Israeli missile streaked across the country s northern border into Syria Among seven people killed were Jihad Mughniyeh Lawyer Who Was Said to Have Dirt on Clinton Had Closer Newly released emails have renewed questions about who the lawyer, Natalia V Veselnitskaya, was representing when she met with top Trump campaign Teachers Much More Than You Wanted To Know Slate The economic effect found is not pure abstract money, but the answer to the question are you capable of functioning in the working class, or are you going to Antibacterial Soap You Can Skip It, Use Plain Soap and When you buy soaps and body washes, do you reach for products labeled antibacterial hoping they ll keep your family safer Do you think those Featured Question with Forrest Anyone Closer Mr Fenn, After reading the blogs and personal emails from hunters over the past three months, do you think anyone is any closer to discovering the location of the A Closer Look Inside Healthy Eating Patterns a Definitions for each food group and subgroup are provided throughout the chapter and are compiled in Appendix c Assumes food choices to meet food group Realbotix Android Buy the Realbotix Harmony App Standard now and get the perfect companion on your mobile device You will also Albert Einstein Wikiquote Few people are capable of expressing with equanimity opinions that differ from the prejudices of their social environment Most people are even incapable of forming

Closer Than You Know Reviews

  • Donna

    The only real issue I had with this book was that the title saying was a melodramatic refrain throughout the book. I couldn’t help but picture a chorus of stone-faced individuals chanting closer than you know every time it came up. It came up a bunch of times at the beginning of the book, thankfully tapered off after that, and then mentioned only a couple of times closer toward the end. But still. It’s not often I come across a book where the title, which is a rather specific saying, is repeated ...more

  • Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)

    I found Brad Parks last year with his book, Say Nothing. I LOVED IT. His second book, Closer Than You Know, is also a winner in my book.

    Let's talk about the characters for a moment. There's a LOT going on in this book with Melanie's past, what's happening to her now, how they intersect and how the prosecuting attorney comes into play. I'm not a mother so I can't imagine how hard it would be to have your child ripped away from you with no warning whatsoever. I mean, Melanie's already been throug
    ...more

  • Brad Parks

    This is a great book. Once you start, you won't be able to put it down.

    (What did you think I was going to say? That it sucked?)

  • Arrington (agirlandher_books) Moore

    A huge thanks to Dutton for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for my review!

    Let me tell you what I absolutely loved this book and devoured it in two days. I had never read anything by Brad Parks before but definitely will read more of his work after this one! This was a quick moving book with so many different pieces to the puzzle. While some of them I was able to figure out before hand it did not ruin the story for me at all! This is by far one of the best thrillers/police
    ...more

  • Book of Secrets

    4.25 Stars → Folks, this book made me a nervous wreck!! The protagonist Melanie Barrick is faced with a nightmare scenario: She goes pick up her infant son from daycare, only to be told he was taken away by Social Services, and no one will tell her why or where he is. Honestly, I don't know how I would continue to function. Things get worse when she gets home to find the police have raided her home and found a HUGE dealer's amount of cocaine hidden in the ceiling. Defending herself seems hopeles ...more

  • Sarah Joint

    So many twists, you'll get dizzy! This roller coaster of a book is my first read by Brad Parks, but likely won't be my last. It definitely kept me reading... and reading... and tired the next day because I sacrificed some of my precious sleep. Many will have a hard time buying a lot of what happens in this one, but I'll give some advice: just go with it. You'll enjoy it more if you aren't questioning the probability of everything. It's a good story and a wild ride, a finely crafted domestic/lega ...more

  • Kaceey

    3.5* (rounding ⬆)

    Melanie is running late picking up her infant son from the babysitter. And in her mind she’s playing out the worst-case scenario…OK, the babysitter fires me as a client and I find myself with no daycare! Great!

    Melanie has no clue that this would be the smallest bump in her road.

    She arrives at the sitter only to discover her son Alex is nowhere to be found. He’s been removed by Social Services! Now with the police squarely looking at Melanie, accusations start to fly and no one
    ...more

  • Gare Billings



    CLOSER THAN YOU KNOW by Brad Parks is a cautionary tale of not only the ugliness and devastation that some people harbor, but it’s also a tale about the love a mother has for her child. I loved this novel, with its domestic suspense plot line that is as impressive as it is horrifying, but I also really enjoyed the legal thriller aspect of this one too. It was not only twisty and fun, but flawlessly executed. Parks does a fantastic job of jumping between storylines until they are not only connect
    ...more