Read You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between by Daniela J. Lamas Online

You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between

"Gripping, soaring, inspiring."--Atul Gawande, author of Being Mortal For readers of Atul Gawande and Jerome Groopman, a book of beautifully crafted stories about what life is like for patients kept alive by modern medical technology.Modern medicine is a world that glimmers with new technology and cutting-edge research. To the public eye, medical stories often begin with sirens and flashing lights and culminate in survival or death. But these are only the most visible narratives. As a critical care doctor treating people at their sickest, Daniela Lamas is fascinated by a different story: what comes after for those whose lives are extended by days, months, or years as a result of our treatments and technologies?In You Can Stop Humming Now, Lamas explores the complex answers to this question through intimate accounts of patients and their families. A grandfather whose failing heart has been replaced by a battery-operated pump; a salesman who found himself a kidney donor on social media; a college student who survived a near fatal overdose and returned home, alive but not the same; and a young woman navigating an adulthood she never thought she'd live to see -- these moving narratives paint a detailed picture of the fragile border between sickness and health.Riveting, gorgeously told, and deeply personal, You Can Stop Humming Now is a compassionate, uncompromising look at the choices and realities that many of us, and our families, may one day face. ...

Title : You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780316393171
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 256 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between

You Can Stop Humming Now A Doctor s Stories of Life Daniela Lamas is a pulmonary and critical care doctor at the Brigham Women s Hospital and faculty at Harvard Medical School Following graduation from Harvard Roald Dahl Wikipedia Early life Childhood Roald Dahl was born in at Villa Marie, Fairwater Road, in Llandaff, Cardiff, Wales, to Norwegian parents, Harald Dahl and Sofie Magdalene Tiny Stories to Make You Think, Smile and Cry Thank you for sharing these beautiful stories It s wonderful to be reminded of the kindness of some people as the news offers so much sadness today. U.S News Latest National News, Videos Photos Get the latest breaking news across the U.S on ABCNews Humming Sound Noise Help Hi Sarinne, What advice can you offer in regards to blocking out very low frequency noise I have recently moved into a double brick house and at night Tiny Love Stories to Make You Smile Marc and Here s a selection of tiny love stories recently submitted to our sister site, Makes Me Think, that not only made us think, but warmed our hearts and made us Is humming that s keeping Southampton residents The midshipman fish is famed for the distinctive humming noise made by the males when they are looking for a mate They are normally nocturnal animals and can be Short Stories The Adventure Of The Engineer s Thumb Full online text of The Adventure Of The Engineer s Thumb by Arthur Conan Doyle Other short stories by Arthur Conan Doyle also available along with many others by Reflections of a Grady Doctor Here is what I know for sure Life is but a twinkling of an eye Every little sliver of time that we get is an opportunity And sure from this photo, it s clear INCEST Stories Desired INCEST We have Incest Stories where the whole keeping it in the family is best thing plays out Sort stories by Date Title Author

You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between Reviews

  • Julie

    Very interesting, but depressing, food for thought. Lamas presents the shocking reality of how little information or true guidance families are given when their loved ones are in ICU and must make decisions about interventions. There are some hopeful stories for balance, thank goodness, but it is an eye-opener.

  • tisasday

    The flip side of what it means to have access to modern medical intervention. It gives another ring of meaning to the term "cutting edge".

  • Courtney

    Dr. Lamas gives voice to unheard, uncomfortable and messy patient stories with an open heart and compassionate prose.

  • Barbara Tarnay

    I really enjoyed this book. The stories themselves were actually a bit on the depressing side, but I think the author has done an excellent job of portraying the not happily ever after ending most of us see in up lifting news stories. If you are fortunate enough to have little experience with chronic illness, this book will be an eye opener for you. I don't think most of us ask when do we stop trying to prolong life and what is the emotional cost of prolonging it. I thought Lamas did a good job ...more

  • Susannah

    A compassionate look at medical care from a clinician’s perspective. Dr. Lamas is a gifted writer in addition to being a sympathetic healer. This book should be required reading for every doctor in training. Truly gorgeous reading.

  • Elizabeth Vazquez

    I read books about dying and death and medicine because I want to able to make informed decisions for my loved ones. This book discussed the medical devices that are able to keep very ill people alive longer and the difficult decisions that people face when they choose to take advantage of those devices. I was especially interested in the stories involving tracheotomy patients, since we had to make the decision to discontinue my own mother's life support after her long battle with COPD. The auth ...more

  • Angie

    WOW great book to really see what happens in between the ICU and long term care.

    Everyone should read this!

  • Carly

    A real eye opener into the medical world and patients lives.

    I loved this book, it made me want to be a doctor, I found myself trying to diagnose patients as I read it !!

    A must read !