Read The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani Online

The Night Diary

It's 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated into two countries: Pakistan and India. The divide has created much tension between Hindus and Muslims, and hundreds of thousands are killed crossing borders. Half-Muslim, half-Hindu twelve-year-old Nisha doesn't know where she belongs, or what her country is anymore. When Papa decides it's too dangerous to stay in what is now Pakistan, Nisha and her family become refugees and embark first by train but later on foot to reach her new home. The journey is long, difficult, and dangerous, and after losing her mother as a baby, Nisha can't imagine losing her homeland, too. But even if her country has been ripped apart, Nisha still believes in the possibility of putting herself back together....

Title : The Night Diary
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780735228511
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 272 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Night Diary

The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani The Night Diary Veera Hiranandani on FREE shipping on qualifying offers In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life Diary Of A Night Watchman AsianWiki Profile Drama Diary Of A Night Watchman English title Night Watchman s Journal literal title Revised romanization Yagyungkkoonilji Hangul Last Night I Dreamed of Peace The Diary Last Night I Dreamed of Peace The Diary of Dang Thuy Tram Dang Thuy Tram Books Public Events Diary Polti House Allocated Blue Badge Parking to the front of the house Wheelchair access to the house and cafe Grounds access dependent on the weather Adapted toilet to rear of Welcome to Doug s Dirt Diary Wednesday, May th New on the Audio Page for today Billy Whittaker recapped his opening night at Fulton and talked about the need to learn his . Illustrator Tutorial Starry night Vector Diary Learn to draw stars in Adobe Illustrator I will be showing you the quickest way to create fast random stars using Transform Each Illustrator effect You will be able Baroda Events Diary Photoract A photography competition followed by a grand exhibition of best pictures from both categories at MS University Fine Arts Hall. Carters Diary Carters Steam Fair diary find out where we will be this weekend The night I had to choose between Russell Crowe and I t was a warm night in Newcastle and the theatre was filling up with excited Jimmy Barnes fans who had tickets to see his new show a spoken word performance Chen San Ding Best Bubble Milk Drink In Taipei Taipei Chen San Ding has been widely reviewed to be the best bubble milk drink in Taipei It is located near Gonguan Night Market, an area

The Night Diary Reviews

  • Richie Partington

    Richie’s Picks: THE NIGHT DIARY by Veera Hiranandani, Dial, March 2018, 272p., ISBN: 978-0-7352-2851-1

    “I think Islam hates us. There’s something there that — there’s a tremendous hatred there. There’s a tremendous hatred. We have to get to the bottom of it. There’s an unbelievable hatred of us.”

    -- Donald J. Trump, 3/9/16, on CNN

    “If I had ever been here before

    On another time around the wheel

    I would probably know just how to deal

    With all of you”

    -- David Crosby “Déjà Vu,” 1970

    July 21, 1947

    Dear Mama
    ...more

  • Laura Gardner

    ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5 for THE NIGHT DIARY by @VeeraWrites. Thanks to the publisher, @PenguinKids for the ARC for @Kidlitexchange. All opinions are my own.

    _*_*_*_*_*

    Nisha, a twelve year old twin who loves to cook and is exceptionally quiet, faces great challenges when she and her family become refugees and must flee the only life they've ever known. It's 1947 and Indian has been freed from British rule, but has also been divided into two countries. Nisha, her twin Amil, her father, and her elderly grandmother
    ...more

  • K.C

    It was soo good, even though there was a little violence.

  • Cari Borchert

    I was excited to see/read a book about something different - it is not common to see children's or many books in general about the Partition of India. So for that I appreciate this book - and I appreciate the story overall. Beyond that, while the other moms and girls from our book club loved this book, it was just OK for me. I think it is written well for the age it speaks to and would be a great historical fiction recommendation.

  • Clare Lund

    Filled with gorgeous language and vivid imagery, The Night Diary tells the story of one family after India gained its independence from the British Commonwealth in 1947 and was divided into two countries. Nisha's father is Hindu and her late mother was Muslim, leaving Nisha feeling torn when conflict between the two religions intensifies: "Where do Amil and I fit in to all of this hate? Can you hate half a person?" The home she has always known is now part of newly formed Pakistan, which Nisha a ...more

  • Abby Johnson

    Loved this historical novel about a young girl and her family forced to leave their home after the partition of India creates the country of Pakistan. It reminded me a lot of Anne Frank's Diary of a Young Girl in the style of writing and I would hand it to kids who are interested in historical fiction or stories of refugees like The Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pinkney.

  • Lisa

    This book, you guys. Wow. What a treasure. An award contender for sure. I'll be thinking about Nisha for a long time.

  • Shauna Yusko

    4 for writing and adult appeal. Good characters and historical setting.

    3 for tween/teen interest.

    Several books that would pair with it.