Read The Room on Rue Amélie by Kristin Harmel Online

The Room on Rue Amélie

For fans of Kristin Hannahs The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kellys Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and familyby the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Againtells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too.Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte cant imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart.Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if hes really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fightingand an unexpected road home.When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazisand to open their own broken heartsas they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned....

Title : The Room on Rue Amélie
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781501171406
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 400 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Room on Rue Amélie

The Room on Rue Amlie by Kristin Harmel Goodreads The Room on Rue Amlie has , ratings and reviews Jennifer TarHeelReader said stars to this historical drama of WWII, The Room on Rue Amelie The Room on Rue Amlie Book by Kristin Harmel The Room on Rue Amlie by Kristin Harmel For fans of Kristin Hannah s The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly s Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, The Room on Rue Amelie by Kristin Harmel, Hardcover Reading Group Guide This reading group guide for The Room on Rue Amlie includes an introduction, discussion questions, and ideas for enhancing your book club. The Room on Rue Amlie KristinHarmel The Room on Rue Amlie Reminiscent of The Nightingale and Map of the Heart, Kristin Harmel s The Room on Rue Amlie is an emotional, heart breaking, inspiring The Room on Rue Amlie eBook by Kristin Harmel Read The Room on Rue Amlie by Kristin Harmel with Rakuten Kobo For fans of Kristin Hannah s The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly s Lilac Girls, this powerful The Room on Rue Amelie Kristin Harmel Buy The Room on Rue Amelie by Kristin Harmel ISBN from s Book Store Everyday low prices and free delivery on eligible orders. The Room on Rue Amlie Kindle edition by Kristin The Room on Rue Amlie The strong and courageous inhabitants of THE ROOM ON RUE AMELIE occupied all my time until the tender and powerful final pages. Review THE ROOM ON RUE AMELIE The Bookish Libra About Kristin Harmel Kristin Harmel is an international bestselling novelist whose books have been translated into numerous languages and are sold all over the world. The Room on Rue Amlie chaptersdigo Buy the Paperback Book The Room on Rue Amlie by Kristin Harmel at Indigo, The Room on Rue Amelie felt like of a love story with the war as the backdrop. bol The Room on Rue Am lie, Kristin Harmel The Room on Rue Am lie hardcover For fans of Kristin Hannah s The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly s Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and

The Room on Rue Amélie Reviews

  • Rachelle

    I fell in love with the prologue of this book because it was so beautifully written and heart wrenching. I hoped the rest of the book was like that, but it fell sort of flat. I didn’t really connect with any of the characters, and they all seemed to have swallowed a book of clichés that were thrown about like ordinary conversation and lost all meaning. The plot was fairly predictable, too. I’m not a huge fan of romance stories or WWII stories to begin with (which makes you wonder why I was readi ...more

  • Lynn

    This is supposed to be historical fiction about the resistance in Paris during WWII, but in reality it's just a bad romance story using the above premise as a backdrop to tell the story. There is very little character development, and all the characters are mostly stereotypes. There is a young girl, Charlotte, who is wise beyond her years, and says things that no young teenager would ever say.

    For me, it's as if The Nightingale and The Lilac Girls were mashed together into one bad novel, taking
    ...more

  • MaryBeth's Bookshelf

    The Room on Rue Amelie focuses on the lives of three different people during World War II.

    Ruby Henderson meets and falls in love with Marcel Benoit. When she moves with him to Paris in 1939 she imagines a very romantic life for them. But Paris is on the cusp of becoming involved in World War II and this changes both of their lives forever.

    Charlotte Dacher is a young girl who lives with her family next to Ruby and Marcel. The Dacher's are Jewish and start to see their world closing in on them as
    ...more

  • Paul Pessolano

    “The Room on Rue Amelie” by Kristin Harmel, published by Gallery Books.

    Category – Fiction/Literature Publication Date – March 27, 2018.

    Ruby Henderson, an American, moves to Paris with her husband Parisian Marcel Benoit and begins to enjoy the, “City of Lights”. The love affair with Paris ends quickly when the Nazi’s invade Paris. Ruby and Marcel become estranged when Marcel disappears frequently and Ruby feels he may be a Nazi collaborator.

    Ruby befriends, Charlotte, a Jewish girl who lives next
    ...more

  • Amy

    Star Rating: 4.5 Stars

    Nothing quite like trying to hold back tears at work.

  • Cheryl

    The year is 1939 and Ruby Benoit is an American newlywed who arrives in Paris with her husband, Marcel. Rumors of war abound, but many Parisians think that their army will be able to repel a German attack. However, their hopes are dashed when the Germans invade France.

    Ruby decides to remain in Paris with her husband whose clandestine activities leave her isolated. She befriends the Jewish Dacher family who live in the apartment next door to Ruby’s. As the Nazis’ hold over Paris tightens, Ruby k
    ...more

  • Brandi Hodges

    This book broke my heart into little, tiny pieces.

    That being said, "The Room on Rue Amélie" is one of the best books I have read this year. You know you have found something special when you find an author who can make you cry and yearn to continue reading within a few short paragraphs. When I read my first book by author Kristin Harmel a few years ago, my heart was broken and put back together so many times I lost count - and that was in one book! The characters and the worlds built by Harmel
    ...more

  • Linda Zagon

    Kudos to Kristin Harmel, Author of "The Room on Rue Amelie" for weaving a fictional story and colorful characters with Historical Fiction. The time period is during World War Two. and goes to the past and the future only as the situation pertains to the story. This is a heavier emotional read with espionage, hardships, devastation, love, despair and hope.

    The characters are complex and complicated, perhaps due to the circumstances. The characters were also  courageous and brave.  Ruby is an Ameri
    ...more