Read The Oracle Year by Charles Soule Online

The Oracle Year

From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the futureperfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer, or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome to Night Vale.Knowledge is power. So when an unassuming Manhattan bassist named Will Dando awakens from a dream one morning with 108 predictions about the future in his head, he rapidly finds himself the most powerful man in the world. Protecting his anonymity by calling himself the Oracle, he sets up a heavily guarded Web site with the help of his friend Hamza to selectively announce his revelations. In no time, global corporations are offering him millions for exclusive access, eager to profit from his prophecies.He's also making a lot of high-powered enemies, from the President of the United States and a nationally prominent televangelist to a warlord with a nuclear missile and an assassin grandmother. Legions of cyber spies are unleashed to hack the Siteas it's come to be calledand the best manhunters money can buy are deployed not only to unmask the Oracle but to take him out of the game entirely. With only a handful of people he can trustincluding a beautiful journalistit's all Will can do to simply survive, elude exposure, and protect those he loves long enough to use his knowledge to save the world.Delivering fast-paced adventure on a global scale as well as sharp-witted satire on our concepts of power and faith, Marvel writer Charles Soule's audacious debut novel takes readers on a rollicking ride where it's impossible to predict what will happen next....

Title : The Oracle Year
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062686657
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 416 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Oracle Year

The Oracle Year by Charles Soule goodreads The Oracle Year has , ratings and reviews Tadiana Night Owl said . stars for this new SF thriller, just published in April Final revi The Oracle Year Charles Soule E book The Oracle Year is about knowing the future and what you do with that knowledge As you meet Will Dando, you can t help but reevaluate yourself Get ready for the best kind of fun Brad Meltzer, New York Times bestselling author of The Inner Circle The Oracle Year by Charles Soule Book of the Month Book of the Month is the best way to discover and read the best new books each month Join today The Oracle Year A Novel by Charles Soule, Hardcover The Oracle Year has all of the elements of a straight ahead action thriller, while exploring faith, politics, and personal responsibility with heart and a sly, satirical wit straight out of the funny pages Barnes Noble Sci Fi Blog The Oracle Year A Novel Kindle edition by Charles The Oracle Year A Novel Kindle edition by Charles Soule Download it once and read it on your Kindle device, PC, phones or tablets Use features like bookmarks The Oracle Year Charles Soule Buy The Oracle Year by Charles Soule ISBN from s Book Store Everyday low prices and free delivery on eligible orders. The Oracle Year A Novel From bestselling comic book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the

The Oracle Year Reviews

  • Stephanie

    Thanks to Harper Perennial for sending me a copy in exchange for a review!

    After reading Middlemarch (and being blown away, oh my goodness it was so GOOD), I decided to read something that was the complete opposite. On that count, this book delivered! This is a fast paced, snappy speculative fiction thriller. An average New Yorker wakes up with precisely 108 predictions about the future. He does what any of us might do: test to see if they're real, try to change the bad ones, set up super secure
    ...more

  • Tammy

    I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The nitty-gritty: A fast-paced thriller with a sci-fi sensibility, this debut is not to be missed!

    Veteran comic book writer Charles Soule asks some thought-provoking questions in his debut novel, The Oracle Year , but he makes sure his readers are having a blast while pondering those questions. I had so much fun reading this book, and l can’t
    ...more

  • Authentikate

    Here was another Book if the Month selection that I was looking forward to reading. It had a unique, original concept (even if it was sort of “sprung” on the reader) and came with a fair amount of hype.

    Pulling no punches, the plot was scattershot and some tendrils left withering on the vine. There were many characters—some more developed than others; some, left hanging from the withering vines.

    I wanted to love this book. I ended up liking it. To me, it suffered from “ let’s write a movie as a
    ...more

  • Megan C.

    I loved this one! It started a little slow for me, but by the end, I was so engaged in the story I was listening to it constantly. Full review to come.

  • Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽

    4.5 stars for this new SF thriller, just published in April 2018. Final review, first posted on Fantasy Literature:

    OCTOBER 8: FOURTEEN BABIES WILL BE BORN AT NORTHSIDE GENERAL HOSPITAL IN HOUSTON. SIX MALE, EIGHT FEMALE.
    One morning at about 5:00 am, Will Dando, a struggling young New York musician, abruptly awakes from a vivid dream. In his dream, a voice told Will 108 oddly specific and rather random predictions about the future, which he remembers verbatim when he wakes up. Some are potentiall ...more

  • Dianne

    Sci-fi "thriller-lite" about a young man, Will, who wakes up one morning with 108 very specific predictions in his head, ranging from the ridiculous (on this date, this person will put pepper on their steak) to the catastrophic (on this date, this bridge will collapse). Quickly realizing his predictions are starting to come true, he and his trusted friend Hamza set up a secured website where he posts some of his predictions, using the alias "Oracle." The novel follows the fallout of Will's site ...more

  • Jilly

    If there is such a thing as Chick-Lit, what is the name for a book that is a guy-type of thing? Is it Dick-Lit? Male-Tales? XY-Chrome-Tomes?



    Definitely Dick-Lit.

    Well, whatever. The point is that this is a man book. It reads like a disaster book where you are seeing what different people are doing all over the world while you wait for some big event to happen. There are good guys who aren't that good and bad guys who are heading into super-villain territory, and plenty of running for lives.



    Bastar
    ...more

  • Loring Wirbel

    When a comics and graphic-novel author like Charles Soule attempts his first traditional text-bound novel, the results could either be dreadful or a rollicking good time, and Soule has fallen into the latter camp. Characters and events can display a little melodramatic quality, to be sure, but that more or less goes with the territory. There are many loose ends and eye-rolling moments in The Oracle Year, but at the end of the day, Soule spins a good yarn.

    What makes the novel personally exasperat
    ...more