Read The Sky at Our Feet by Nadia Hashimi Online

The Sky at Our Feet

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s. Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, its hard to feel American now when hes terrified that his mother will be discoveredand that they will be separated.When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if hes overestimated what he can do.After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungleeven though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they wont be able to run forever....

Title : The Sky at Our Feet
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062421951
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Sky at Our Feet

Watch Sky The Amazing World of Gumball click to open detail panel Patrick Melrose Dinner in the Sky The sky is the limit for your dinner party, meeting, or other special event See why Dinner in the Sky is the most unique event you will ever plan. Our Balloons Sky s The Limit Ballooning See our fleet Check our fleet of colorful balloons We maintain our balloons to be the safest in the sky We inspect our balloons every hours using FAA Sky Tavern Sky Tavern Since Sky Tavern Junior Ski Program is the oldest and largest volunteer run ski school in the United States. Skydeck Chicago Welcome to the Ledge Step outside the tallest building in the Western Hemisphere At , feet in the air, the Ledge s glass boxes extend out . feet from the Red Sky Performance Red Sky Performance acknowledges our creative home on the sacred and traditional territories of the Anishinabek, Mississaugas of the New Credit First Nation i SKY What Now What now is a question we all ask ourselves sooner or later, whether because we have achieved our set goal or because our dreams lie scattered around our feet. SpaceWeather News and information about Noctilucent Clouds Our connection with NASA s AIM spacecraft has been restored New images from AIM show that the southern season for noctilucent clouds NLCs is Video Mount Sinabung s Eruption Sends Ash , Feet Earlier this week, the volcano Mount Sinabung in Indonesia erupted, sending ash , feet into the sky. This futuristic jet pack lets users fly up to , feet A daily newsletter charting the future From technology to the scientific breakthroughs changing our lives.

The Sky at Our Feet Reviews

  • Carol Moore Kollar

    Jason D's mother has an expired student visa from Afghanistan. When he sees his mother picked up at her place of work, he flees and tries to find his aunt in NYC. After suffering a fall at the train station and ending up in the hospital, he befriends Max. Together they orchestrate an escape. This adventure story is sure to appeal to all Middleschoolers (Max is a girl).

  • Jennifer Hill

    Amazing. Great story about a mom/son from Afghanistan and their story of coming here and becoming citizens.

  • Pam

    Jason's world changes after his mother reveals she has overstayed her student Visa and is in the country illegally. He sees her taken away from her place of employment and decides to get to his "aunt" in New York City. Most of the book takes us through his travels. He end up in the hospital with a concussion and meets a friend who helps him escape and try to get to his aunt's home. Their adventures in one day fill most of the book.

    This is middle-grade fiction so it wraps up neatly with everyone'
    ...more

  • Simran

    The Sky At Our Feet is a story about a young boy Jason D, and his mother who had fled Afghanistan after his father's death and now are living in America as immigrants. Written from Jason's point of view its about his adventures or should I say misadventures when he finds out that his mum is can be sent to Afghanistan by the immigration officers and police.

    The story is about a delicate yet very poignant issue and gives the readers a peek into the lives of immigrants to gain a better perspective
    ...more

  • Rebecca McNutt

    This book, set in New York at one of the most uncertain times in our recent history, is an excellent and evocative story of friendship, family and what it truly means to be an American. Jason's life is harrowing to read about, to say the least. He's a child who's not only facing being separated from his beloved mother due to her illegal immigrant status, but also going on an adventure with a girl his age, Max, who's pretty secretive about her own medical condition but who loves life and wants to ...more

  • Darla

    Thank you to Harper Collins and Edelweiss for an ARC of this middle grade book.

    It was quite an adventure story. It begins on the day when Jason sees his mother picked up from her job at the laundromat because she does not have American citizenship. He decides to go find his "Aunt" in NYC, but only knows what street she lives on. The story takes lots of twists and turns as Jason makes his way to NYC, ends up in the hospital, and escapes with a girl named Max. There are lots of opportunities for k
    ...more

  • Melinda

    Action-packed, character-driven middle grade fiction with a social conscience! I loved the twists and turns of Jason's journey, along with the optimism created by a cast of ultimately helpful, caring adults.

  • Laura (bbliophile)

    This was wonderful