Read The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo Online

The Poet X

A young girl in Harlem discovers slam poetry as a way to understand her mothers religion and her own relationship to the world. Debut novel of renowned slam poet Elizabeth Acevedo.Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayersespecially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mamis determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself.So when she is invited to join her schools slam poetry club, she doesnt know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out, much less speak her words out loud. But still, she cant stop thinking about performing her poems.Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent....

Title : The Poet X
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 368 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Poet X

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo Goodreads The Poet X . Rating details Ratings Review A young girl in Harlem discovers slam poetry as a way to understand her mother s religion and her own relationship to the world Debut novel of renowned slam poet Elizabeth Acevedo Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo Hardcover Acevedo s poetry is skillfully and gorgeously crafted, each verse can be savored on its own, but together they create a portrait of a young poet sure to resonate with readers long after the book s end School Library Journal starred review The Poet X is beautiful and true a splendid Slam Poet Elizabeth Acevedo Debuts Novel, The Poet X Slam poet Elizabeth Acevedo is adding to this genre with her new novel, The Poet X, out in early from HarperCollins The novel centers around year old Xiomara The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo The Poet X is Elizabeth Acevedo s extraordinary debut novel that speaks from the depths of the beauty and power of the written and spoken word It is a novel in verse, told in three parts about Xiomara Batista, a year old girl hailing from Harlem. The Poet X CatFairy Books Poet X is so original because it s essentially a whole story from beginning to end only it s written in poems and it s not just your typical poetry it s slam poetry For those of you that aren t familiar with slam poetry, it s basically a personal and emotional kind of poem that describes the struggle that someone is facing. The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo, , available at Book Depository with free delivery worldwide. The Poet X The Paperback Princess Rating Author Elizabeth Acevedo Genres Poetry, Young Adult Pub Date Mar Read Apr Burn it Burn it This is THE POET X by Elizabeth Acevedo Kirkus Reviews Poetry helps first generation Dominican American teen Xiomara Batista come into her own. The Poet X is a stunning amplification of the Latina Elizabeth Acevedo s debut novel uses spoken word as a vehicle for cultural representation The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo, Hardcover Barnes Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times bestselling novel in verse by an award winning slam poet

The Poet X Reviews

  • Jasmine

    Before the review, I just want to let you know that there's an international giveaway for a copy of this book on the Blog Tour if anyone's interested! :)

    ***Actual rating: 4.5/5 ‘En voz alta, Xiomara’ Stars***

    The Poet X is a book you’ll easily fall in love with from the first page until the end. It’s profoundly meaningful and extremely poignant in the era of #OwnVoice and #Diverse. There’s not a thing I don’t like about this book, but if I had to choose one particular element I love the most, i
    ...more

  • Latanya (CraftyScribbles)

    "A lantern glowing in the dark."

    A caged bird discovers her wings. 5/5

    There are no cons to this story, and even if I searched and came up with one, it would be out of pettiness.

    However,

    There are many pros to reading this story, which follow.

    *We see the voice of a young Afro-Latina (Dominicana) searching for and speaking her truth. She strives through the messiness of living with a domineering mother and an absent father, one like mine (There but not there). We see how one kiss from a boy can slu
    ...more

  • Lola  Reviewer

    WARNING: Bad poetry ahead.

    I stand here, and I think,

    if there is one thing I want to say,

    to Xiomara,

    it’s that she is proof effervescent passion and love,

    transcend hate.

    Words have the power,

    to open your chest,

    and pull your heart out,

    and carry it to the sky.

    But if those words are not expressed,

    if they remain imprisoned,

    and you remain restrained,

    you will never feel freedom.

    I want to let them free,

    to let them fly,

    to let them breathe,

    to let me cry,

    my emotions out,

    to form a pool,

    that becomes a sanct
    ...more

  • Brown Girl Reading

    First off, I want to say that I am a Christian. My faith in Christ means everything to me. That being said, The Poet X opened a window and allowed me to see into the life of a young girl who is raised by a devout tyrannical Catholic mother who shoved her beliefs down her daughter’s throat. It broke my heart. I cannot speak for Catholicism because it differs from my faith, but I am fully aware that tyrannical devout “Christians” exist and treat their children the same way Xiomara’s mother treated ...more

  • Tori (InToriLex)

    Find this and other Reviews at In Tori Lex

    I absolutely loved this book. Xiomara (See-O- Mara) describes growing up in a body that has developed without her permission, in a strict religious household. Like many young girls Xiomara is given unwanted attention by leering men wherever she goes. Her mother  wants her to act and believe in what she did when she was young . Xiomara uses her writing and creativity to figure out what she wants and how to express it. Xiomara questions what she has been t



    Maybe, the only thing that has to make sense

    about  being somebody's friends is that you help

    them be their best selves on any given day.

    That you give them a home

    when they don't want to be in their own 




    This is a novel written in verse, but it was not too rhyme-y and flowed well. Xiomara's relationship with her boyfriend Aman included the right amount of angst and tension that all teenagers feel when they're driven by hormones. Xiomara relates well to her twin brother Xavier, although they have different strengths. While Xavier is introverted and small in stature, Xiomara is his champion because of her size and courage to stand up to whoever stands against her. She slowly learns what she wants and goes after it, despite what anyone else thinks. The character development helped me connect with the story and I became emotionally invested in what happens.




    And the words I never say are better left on

    my tongue since they would only have

    slammed against the closed door of your back


    The use of Spanish throughout the book was great. The phrases used were translated and reminded the reader of Xiomara's cultural identity. Reading about a Dominican teenager coming of age was refreshing because too few young adult books focus on people of color. You can tell the author wrote from what she knew, the situations and humor shared between the characters was genuine.  Even Xiomara's name forces the reader to get uncomfortable and quickly adjust to something new. I would recommend this to reader's who enjoy coming of age stories with unshakeable female characters and problematic family dynamics.

    I received this e-book from HarperTeen in exchange for an honest review. ...more

  • Katie.dorny

    I was not expecting any of this and I was not expecting to be on a roll of loving all these books at the moment!

    This was breathtaking. I literally felt like I had to read quicker to match the pace of the poetry because I was scared it would slip away from me.

    Xiomara is a 15 year old girl just trying to get her shit together. She digests everything through poetry - it's a beautiful perspective on the world.

    She questions everything, from boys, to church to bullshit creepy men hitting on a minor.

    Re
    ...more

  • Laurie Anderson

    A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart!! Highly recommended!

  • Emer

    buddy read with Lola

    Mostly a review of random thoughts and feels

    This is a novel in poetry format. Xio, the main character, writes her thoughts in the form of poems that she writes into her journal every day and through these poems we experience some important moments in her teenage life.

    Good points

    The poems really connected me as a reader to the thought processes of Xio. I felt everything she felt (the good, the bad and the ugly) and really got a sense of her as a person.

    A great feminist messa
    ...more