Read The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo Online

The Poet X

A young girl in Harlem discovers slam poetry as a way to understand her mothers religion and her own relationship to the world. Debut novel of renowned slam poet Elizabeth Acevedo.Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayersespecially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mamis determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself.So when she is invited to join her schools slam poetry club, she doesnt know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out, much less speak her words out loud. But still, she cant stop thinking about performing her poems.Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent....

Title : The Poet X
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 368 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Poet X
the sun the range the guardian the mail the greatest showman the works the train line the first purge the white company the split the entertainer the purge the kissing booth the gym the woman in white the alienist the mirror the bridge the shard the ordinary the poet matfield the poet x the poet laureate the poet and the pendulum the poet michael connelly the poet shelley the poet and castle the poet and the pendulum lyrics the poet pub matfield the poet bobby womack the poet rumi the poet film the poet and the muse the poet matfield groupon the poet house ely the poet society the poet and the piper the poet shoreditch the poet pub kent the poet poundbury the poet x by elizabeth acevedo the poet x amazon the poet x book the poet x pdf the poet x summary the poet x review the poet x quotes the poet x goodreads the poet x vk the poet x characters the poet x acevedo the poet x read online the poet x common sense media the poet x barnes and noble the poet x audiobook the poet x paperback the poet x target the poet x lexile the poet x reading level the poet x elizabeth acevedo vk

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo Goodreads The Poet X . Rating details Ratings Review A young girl in Harlem discovers slam poetry as a way to understand her mother s religion and her own relationship to the world Debut novel of renowned slam poet Elizabeth Acevedo Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo Hardcover Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times bestselling novel in verse by an award winnin Slam Poet Elizabeth Acevedo Debuts Novel, The Poet X Slam poet Elizabeth Acevedo is adding to this genre with her new novel, The Poet X, out in early from HarperCollins The novel centers around year old Xiomara The Poet X Author Elizabeth Acevedo Explains Why She The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo, , Pre order If you don t already have The Poet X on your TBR, now is definitely the time to add it to the stack. The Poet X bookwormsrd A young girl in Harlem discovers slam poetry as a way to understand her mother s religion and her own relationship to the world Debut novel of renowned slam poet X Solutions POET GmbH POET X Solutions cover the entire process between suppliers and purchasers, from supplier catalog management to the corporate purchasing process. Nomination The Poet X Amelia Bloomer Project The coming of age of fifteen year old Xiomara Batista aspiring poet, reluctant confirmation class attendee, twin, first generation Dominican American. Bernard the Poet Earth Marvel Database Bernard was a beatnik poet who often performed at the Coffee A Go Go, a coffee shop frequented by the original team of X Men and their friends While teenage Bobby Drake Iceman and Henry X magazine Wikipedia X, A Quarterly Review, often referred to as X magazine, was a British review of literature and the arts published in London which ran for seven issues between Robert Browning Wikipedia Robert Browning May December was an English poet and playwright whose mastery of the dramatic monologue made him one of the foremost Victorian poets His poems are known for their irony, characterization, dark humour, social commentary, historical settings, and challenging vocabulary and syntax.

The Poet X Reviews

  • Jasmine

    Before the review, I just want to let you know that there's an international giveaway for a copy of this book on the Blog Tour if anyone's interested! :)

    ***Actual rating: 4.5/5 ‘En voz alta, Xiomara’ Stars***

    The Poet X is a book you’ll easily fall in love with from the first page until the end. It’s profoundly meaningful and extremely poignant in the era of #OwnVoice and #Diverse. There’s not a thing I don’t like about this book, but if I had to choose one particular element I love the most, i
    ...more

  • Dannii Elle

    Actual rating 4.5/5 stars.

    The Poet X follows teen, Xiomara Batista, as she uses her own poetry, and enters into the world of slam poetry, in an attempt to understand her divorced feelings from her religion, her tumultuous relationship with her family, and her own identity and place in this world.

    My first book written in verse has proven to me that it can compete with wordier or lengthier pieces of prose for emotional impact and how deeply it could resonate with me. I found line after line that I
    ...more

  • Julia Sapphire

    3.5-3.75 stars

    TW: Abuse and Sexual Harassment

    - topics: religion, poetry, masturbation, periods, relationships

    - read this in one sitting - super quick read

    - really enjoyed the writing style

    - main character was badass

    - the religious aspect gave me Carrie vibes at one point

    - ending lacked for me, was too perfect

    - story could have been more developed

    - a lot of great quotes

  • Tomi Adeyemi

    #ThePoetX was so beautiful that I didn’t want to highlight it or dog ear pages, so I just took pictures basically every page

    This was the type of book where “I’ll just do 50 pages” turned into finishing it in 2 reads

    I felt very emotional reading this book, not just because the story and the words themselves were so beautiful, but because I knew it was going to make so many teens who felt like no one cares about them or listens to them feel seen.

    I also knew that if I had had books like this or Lo
    ...more

  • Tatiana

    As with many other novels-in-verse, I am struggling to call this poetry. To me, this is beautiful, effective prose, cut up and served up in small bits. I am used to traditional poetry (that rhymes at least occasionally) and might need further literary education to get on board with this concept of chopping up prose to present it in a visually distinctive and pleasing way and calling it poetry.

    But I digress...

    I recommend listening to this novel on audio. The author does an outstanding job readin
    ...more

  • (Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas

    "Xiomara may be remembered as a lot of things: a student, a miracle, a protective sister, a misunderstood daughter, but most importantly, she should be remembered as always working to become the warrior she wanted to be."

    I loved how honest, raw & beautiful this book was. Elizabeth Acevedo gave voice to so many youth through Xiomara. I was her in my youth and this book took me back to those teen years growing up in NY with strict Hispanic parents. How I wish I had a book like this to remi
    ...more

  • Julie Ehlers

    You can have a father who, if people asked,

    you had to say lived with you.

    You have to say is around.

    But even as he brushes by you

    on the way to the bathroom,

    he could be as gone as anybody.


    I really liked The Poet X, a portrait of the artist as a first-generation Dominican American girl. A novel in poems, this book takes on a lot in its short length: checked-out father, overly strict mother, closeted gay twin brother, questioning of Catholic upbringing, young love, and most fascinating, the main cha
    ...more

  • Bethany

    The Poet X is a LatinX coming-of-age novel told in verse. It is stunning, often relatable, and beautifully captures the push and pull of being a teenager verging on adulthood with the expectations of a conservative family.

    Xiomara is a talented writer living in Harlem with a devout Catholic mother and strict behavioral expectations (especially because she is a girl). She is pretty and curvy and has a love-hate relationship with her body and the way it is objectified by men. (This is something I
    ...more