Read The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl by Stacy McAnulty Online

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test middle school!Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different....

Title : The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781524767570
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

The Ultimate Summer Reading List for to Year Tween The Ultimate Summer Reading List for to Year Olds Edition by Melissa Taylor Riverdale Public Library Riverdale Public Library located at Newark Pompton Turnpike, Riverdale, NJ Tel . Bob Wendy Mass, Rebecca Stead, Nicholas Gannon Bob Wendy Mass, Rebecca Stead, Nicholas Gannon on FREE shipping on qualifying offers It s been five years since Livy and her family have visited Best Books for Year Olds Imagination Soup The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl by Stacy McAnulty REALISTIC BOOKS ABOUT MENTAL ILLNESS OCD My daughter and I Best Books for Year Olds th Grade Imagination Best Books for Year Olds Sixth Grade I ve taken all my book reviews to create this huge list of the best books books for year olds at the right reading Mesa Public Library The baby led weaning family cookbook your baby learns to eat solid foods, you enjoy the convenience of one meal for everyone Rapley, Gill, author. Summer Camps Saratoga Arts Saratoga Arts offers five camp programs throughout the summer Each offers a unique summer camp experience for children who love to learn about and create art. Abnormality Medaka Box Wiki FANDOM powered by An Abnormality , Abun maru , also known as a Skill , Sukiru , is a super human ability possessed by a rare number of humans, categorized by Hakoniwa Pokmon General Fanfic Recs TV Tropes A page for describing FanficRecs Pokmon General These are recommendations made by Tropers for Pokmon general Fan Fic, all of which have to be Expecting Someone Taller TV Tropes The Expecting Someone Taller trope as used in popular culture So it s been a while since you answered the Call to Adventure, and you ve had some successes.

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl Reviews

  • Janet Slipak

    Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can’t solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s.

    Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn’t remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she’s technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test–middle school!

    Lucy’s grandma insists: Go to middle school for
    ...more

  • Julian

    OUT MAY 1st MARK YOUR CALENDARS

    Going through middle school can be hard enough as it is, but Lucy Callahan is going to have to face an even bigger challenge. After being struck by lightning at a young age, Lucy now has genius-level math skills, but that's not everything she has to deal with. She now has acquired Savant Syndrome and OCD, which in time turn out to cause Lucy some inconvenience.

    Going into this book, I really didn't know what to expect, seeing as I haven't read much middle grade lat
    ...more

  • Betsy

    The world would have us believe that the left brained and right brained amongst us can never see eye-to-eye. Think about it. How many times have you heard a perfectly intelligent person say with a shrug, “I’m bad at math”? This is considered acceptable behavior amongst the literary. In fact, the sentence might, at most, elicit some sympathetic shrugs from listeners. Now imagine the person saying, “I’m bad at reading”. Disbelieving laughter might come, following by stunned silence. Why do we feel ...more

  • Taniksha

    Recommended by: Lola Reviewer

  • Michele Knott

    Absolutely loved this one. I fell in love with Lucy and appreciated the challenges in her life in this very realistic middle grade novel.

  • Kirsti Call

    I received a copy of this from netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    This book is well written, compelling, and the kind of book I'm recommending to friends. Lucy, the MC is a brilliant, likable, awkward, and relatable 12 year old kid. Being hit by lightning at age 8 is just the tip of the iceberg in terms of things that make Lucy different. Not only does Lucy have her quirks, but she's also raised by her grandmother and entering school after 4 years of homeschooling. Stacy McAnulty does a
    ...more

  • MissBecka

    Thank you Lola for recommending such a cool book!

    Well that was a pleasant surprise!

    Our main character, Lucy, was struck by lightning when she was younger and as a result has become a math wizard who has a case of OCD to go with it.

    As someone with a mild case of OCD it was refreshing to see acceptance and support for Lucy throughout the book. Anyone dealing with any form of OCD will know that it is not easy to get understanding of all our "quirks" and "weird habits" as a lot of my family and fri
    ...more

  • Lisa

    Lucy was struck by lightning when she was eight and, due to the damage to her brain, became a mathematical genius. She has been homeschooled, but her grandmother insists that Lucy go to public school so she can try something new and make a friend. Lucy, who'd rather take college classes and be friends with the others in her virtual math clubs, is less than excited about starting middle school. Although Lucy tries to hide her math talents in an effort to appear as normal as possible, her OCD tend ...more