Read Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark T. Sullivan Online

Beneath a Scarlet Sky

Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young mans incredible courage and resilience during one of historys darkest hours. Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. Hes a normal Italian teenagerobsessed with music, food, and girlsbut his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.In an attempt to protect him, Pinos parents force him to enlist as a German soldiera move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitlers left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reichs most mysterious and powerful commanders.Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love....

Title : Beneath a Scarlet Sky
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781503943377
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 513 pages
Url Type : Home » Beneath » Beneath a Scarlet Sky

Beneath a Scarlet Sky Mark Sullivan Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man s incredible courage and resilience during one of Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan Book Club BENEATH A SCARLET SKY is a work of historical fiction As you were reading did you feel that the story was authentic Given that the truth about what actually Beneath a Scarlet Sky A Novel Barnes Noble Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man s incredible courage and resilience during one of Pascal Pictures Lands Beneath A Scarlet Sky For Tom Pascal Pictures Lands Beneath A Scarlet Sky For Tom Holland Beneath A Scarlet Sky Book Review Arlene s Book Club Beneath A Scarlet Sky Book Review By Dinh Synopsis Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis He s a normal Italian teenager obsessed with music Beneath a Scarlet Sky Sullivan Discussion Questions Our Reading Guide for Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan includes Book Club Discussion Questions, Book Reviews, Plot Summary Synopsis and Author Bio. Beneath a Scarlet Sky A Novel by Mark Sullivan Reading Informative, Dramatic, Adventurous, BookMovement s reading guide includes discussion questions, plot summary, reviews and ratings and suggested discussion questions Fiction Book Review Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Edgar finalist Sullivan Triple Cross lays on history with a trowel in this overstuffed tale of derring do set in Italy during WWII In , year old Pino Lella Groveland man s father inspired a book and possibly a Pino Lella, of Lesa, Italy, is the protagonist in best selling book Beneath a Scarlet Sky Maggie Beck Union Democrat Plugged In Plugged In reviews movies, videos, music, TV and games from a Christian perspective We re shining a light on the world of popular entertainment.

Beneath a Scarlet Sky Reviews

  • Liz

    This is a fascinating book about WWII in Italy. I’ve read so much about Northern Europe during the war, but this is the first book about what took place in Italy. It follows the story of a real life teenager, beginning in 1943 when he guides Jews over the mountain pass to Switzerland and through the events that have him end up as a spy for the Allies.

    The story is well told and engaging. The characters seem real. Too often, historical characters come across as wooden or two dimensional, as if th
    ...more

  • Erin

    3 neutral stars

    The book synopsis sums up the first 35% of the novel really well. Therefore, I am not going to summarize the plot here. I didn't hate Beneath a Scarlet Sky, but I didn't really love this book either. I did love the cover, the title, and that this was a WWII era book situated in Italy. Most of the books I read are heavy on the France/Poland narrative and I appreciated the different angle. I will say that it was refreshing to have a male protagonist be shown in a very different li
    ...more

  • Terri Lynn

    This was beautifully written. The events really happened but the author had to add conversations that the subject obviously could not remember decades later word for word. I liked seeing the Holocaust from the viewpoint of what happened in Italy. Most books include little if anything about the suffering that both Mussolini and Hitler wreaked on Italians, both Jews and non-Jews. An amazing book I highly recommend.

  • Beverly

    Although I read it quickly, Beneath a Scarlet Sky did not live up to the beauty of its cover. This was recommended to me so that's mostly why I finished it. I should not have read my Goodreads friends' reviews because they were very critical.

    One reason they were, which I think is the most damning is that although it's purported to be the true life story of Pino Lella, a hero of WW 2, there is little supporting evidence for his story and some of the incidents the author reports seem unlikely to
    ...more

  • Dianne

    I enjoyed this suspenseful World War II story set in Italy under Nazi occupation. I love WWII fiction and don't believe I have ever read a book from the Italian perspective. The author makes it clear in the preface that this is not a biography or historical novel, but a work of fiction based on the life of Pino Lella. With that firmly in my mind, I didn't really mind Sullivan's embellishments to Lella's story, although it did seem as though Lella was personally present at every single significan ...more

  • LeAnne

    This work of historical WWII fiction is about a real Italian teenager who was, for a short time, part of the group that smuggled Jewish refugees over the Alps and across the Swiss border to safety. Sent to a Catholic order up in the mountains to escape bombing at home, Pino comes of age in a short time period and takes great personal risk to help those fleeing the Germans.

    Anecdotes surrounding refugees hiding in the tree tops and treacherous alpine ascents were fairly gripping, although some of
    ...more

  • Katie

    One feature of every hugely engaging novel is that it’s palpable throughout that the author has invested a great deal of heart and imagination into the narrative. This is far from always the case. There’s sometimes a sense an author is fulfilling a contractual obligation or is never quite inspired by his/her characters or story. This is one of those novels where it’s obvious the author has thrown himself heart and soul into his material and achieved an imaginative identification with its hero so ...more

  • The Just-About-Cocky Ms M

    So many five-star reviews, so much gushing over this book! I love reading about WWII in Europe, so I snapped this up in a nanosecond. What could go wrong?

    A hell of a lot.

    I should remember that a tsunami of five-star reviews, mitigated by some sizable waves of four-star pronouncements, by people I don't know and whose opinions I have no reason to trust usually equals disaster.

    And I was right.

    First I must figuratively scratch my head over the editorial laurels laid at the author's feet: all those
    ...more